Jalapeno Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
okay I'm not a supporting member so I can't customize; but this is a great starter for making your own version. I added sun-dried tomatoes, calamata olives, fresh parsley, a dab of habanero sauce. Used fresh jalapeno and a touch of red wine vinegar to moisten. No curry powder. Juice of 1-1/2 lemons, 1 can garbanzos. Had to put a lid on the container, stick it in the fridge and leave the kitchen before I ate it all right on the spot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have tahini, so I substituted with peanut butter and a small amount of sesame oil. I also didn't have curry powder, so I used a dash of ginger, dash of cloves, and 4 dashes of turmeric (which also added a nice color). I used fresh jalapenos from my garden, roasting them in the oven first. I should have deseeded them...it was HOT!!! Also, I used lime juice instead of lemon. Basically, you can make this recipe with what you have at home. It's easy to follow. Substitutions work well. And, it is really, really, really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adreams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Love this hummus!! It was a huge hit at our last family gathering - even those that didn't typically like hummus were raving about this recipe. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bon vivant

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is a great recipe. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veggiemonster!!!
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Curry + Jalapenos = Pure Awesomeness. I'm not a fan of canned jalapenos, but CRAZY about fresh ones, and always make sure I have at least 20 fresh jalapenos on hand in my kitchen. Seeded and finely chopped up a few for this recipe, and oh man, was it good! Though I only recommend using fresh if you can handle the spiciness; it's a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemonster!!!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Very tasty! Spicy but just spicy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Made this but I used dry garbanzo beans that I soaked over night, removed the hulls and cooked to fork tender in a crock pot. It was a lot of work and recommend using canned for easy cooking. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
great, easy hummus! Healthy too, because it doesn't require olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Awesome! I followed the recipe exactly and it was absolutely delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States