Jalapeno Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
really, really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Just made this recipe. Made it as-is, no changes. I've made several hummus recipes previously and have been very disappointed. This most definitely did not disappoint. It was way better than store bought and just as good as any restaurant I've tasted. It didn't make very much so I'm glad I doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was the first time i made hummus and it turned out great, everyone loved it and i will make it again. I didn't add curry, and did add some water for it to blend better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I love this recipe! It is so easy to make and full of flavor. The jalapeno gives it that extra kick that puts this above other hummus recipes. And yes, if you can't find it you can replace the tahini with peanut butter! I used 2 tbs of the natural peanut butter (chunky) so it's not extremely sweet and 1 tbs of sesame oil to give it a little of the sesame taste. It works beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Hummus is an awesome snack in and of itself, but add the fruity heat of jalapenos... and it's down right addictive. I used fresh jalapenos and added olive oil to make up for the lacking canned juice. Served with homemade baked tortillas the first day and the next day for lunch, I schmeared the remainder in a veggie wrap. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
LOVE THIS! I've been getting the Cilantro Jalapeno Hummus from Whole Foods but now I won't have to - homemade is just as good! Followed recipe pretty much as is with 2 exceptions - only used 1 Tbsp of Tahini, added 1Tbsp of Olive Oil to make it more creamy. Blended and then added extra Jalapeno, Cilantro, Red Pepper Flakes until it was to taste for me. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Great flavor, just a little on the dry side. Perhaps add a touch of olive oil next time to make it more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My son said this is the best hummus he has ever had. I used one can, which is basically doubling the recipe. I added more garlic and cumin, and put in some roasted red peppers. I didn't use as much Tahini as it called for...I added and tasted until I liked the flavor...I did add a quick dash of sesame oil for extra flavor and topped with crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The base recipe is a little bland to our taste, but is a good start. We did the following to spice it up a bit and feel it could use even more: 1 tsp curry 1 tsp cumin 1/4 tsp cayenne 1/2 tsp salt 4 cloves garlic 4 tbsp lemon juice 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I never follow a recipe exact but look for inspirations instead. This is the best hummus I've had EVER! I do not use the curry and I just play around with the other ingredients in my food processer until I get the results I like. It's always a huge hit at any gathering. Oh, I only use like a tsp of tahini per can. Not as smooth consistency but the flavor is great and lower in calories. Awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States