Jalapeno Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Hummus is an awesome snack in and of itself, but add the fruity heat of jalapenos... and it's down right addictive. I used fresh jalapenos and added olive oil to make up for the lacking canned juice. Served with homemade baked tortillas the first day and the next day for lunch, I schmeared the remainder in a veggie wrap. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
LOVE THIS! I've been getting the Cilantro Jalapeno Hummus from Whole Foods but now I won't have to - homemade is just as good! Followed recipe pretty much as is with 2 exceptions - only used 1 Tbsp of Tahini, added 1Tbsp of Olive Oil to make it more creamy. Blended and then added extra Jalapeno, Cilantro, Red Pepper Flakes until it was to taste for me. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Great flavor, just a little on the dry side. Perhaps add a touch of olive oil next time to make it more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My son said this is the best hummus he has ever had. I used one can, which is basically doubling the recipe. I added more garlic and cumin, and put in some roasted red peppers. I didn't use as much Tahini as it called for...I added and tasted until I liked the flavor...I did add a quick dash of sesame oil for extra flavor and topped with crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The base recipe is a little bland to our taste, but is a good start. We did the following to spice it up a bit and feel it could use even more: 1 tsp curry 1 tsp cumin 1/4 tsp cayenne 1/2 tsp salt 4 cloves garlic 4 tbsp lemon juice 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I never follow a recipe exact but look for inspirations instead. This is the best hummus I've had EVER! I do not use the curry and I just play around with the other ingredients in my food processer until I get the results I like. It's always a huge hit at any gathering. Oh, I only use like a tsp of tahini per can. Not as smooth consistency but the flavor is great and lower in calories. Awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. Since I didn't have tahini, I used toasted sesame seeds..(which is what tahini is made from) and it worked fine..I have a VitaMix, so the sesame seeds were completely ground up. Also adding a few slices of Red Bell Pepper gives it a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Awesome flavor and super easy. Immediate favorite. Thanks so much for sharing this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurita
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Everyone loved this at the party that I brought it to. I put the hummus on top of cucumber slices and topped that with a cherry tomato half. I would have preferred a little less curry powder. I also would have preferred a bit smoother texture. I used a food processor, but next time I will try the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was a great hit at our Christmas party. Has a nice spicy afterglow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States