Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
WARNING WARNING Do not breath the fumes over the pan while its cooking or cooling. You can actually burn your lungs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Love this recipe!!! Picked the jalapenos this morning and used a whole Vidalia onion. Fantastic!!! Puts my favorite green Texas Pete to shame!!! I did use 3/4 cup of vinegar based on some of the reviews but I think a cup would be just fine. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yulladog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I have to agree, this is a great starter recipe for hot sauce. You could probably use any pepper you wanted. I added a little more onion, sugar as was suggested in the other posts, and a tad bit more vinegar (We like ours kinda vinegary). I would have given this a 5 star but the overall time to prepare/cook seemed to be a little off--but I did de-seed the jalapenos first. Mine came from garden to kitchen same day. Great recipe. Gonna bottle some up and give to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is great. I often end up with large numbers of peppers and this is a great use for them, delicious and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a great starter recipe! I just gave it a whirl with some miscellaneous peppers from the garden and it worked great. I'm going to try some variations on it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I purchased a basket of jalapenos at a cheap price but didn't know exactly what to do with them. Then I found this recipe. My family has used this sauce on nachos, french fries, chicken and burgers. We absolutely love it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I only used 1/2 cup vinegar. It is fantastic! everyone loved it. We even dipped tortilla chips in it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Delicious sauce! Added some habanero peppers and lemon juice for added bite. This one is better than any bottled green sauce and I love that I can control the amount of salt (my biggest issue with bottled sauces). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I really love this hot sauce but had to give it less than 5 stars because if I had made it precisely as instructed it wouldn't have been good. The first time I made this I nearly passed out because the vinegar was so overwhelming. I just halved the vinegar and it worked wonderfully for me. We make it all the time now and it's a staple in our kitchen. We eat it with eggs and potatoes, tacos... anything that needs a little kick. We even add it to beans when we are making refried beans. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My husband and I made this to use up jalapenos from my parents' garden, and we love it! It has a great heat to it, but not too much to block out the great pepper flavor of the sauce. We did reduce the vinegar like many have suggested, and added some fresno peppers. This is definitely one we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States