Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Will try again. Added sugar and cumin like another reviewer did and that was a bad decision! Next time I'll follow the directions closer but still this was a good base. Gave our taco's a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very good! I modified only slightly: used 10 jalapenos & 4 serrano peppers because that is what I had; decreased the water to 1 1/2 cups; and added a dash of lime juice, bit of cilantro, and 1 tsp of sugar as suggested by the other reviewers. Had this at my super bowl party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This sauce is soooo good! Just be prepared to choke a little on the spicy air when you're blending and pouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this with serrano peppers (about 1.5 lbs). I reduced the vinegar to 2/3 cups based on other reviews. The sauce was great! But I will add the full cup of vinegar next time - there will be a next time. :) Thanks Rayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I have never made my own hot sauce but after this recipe I don't think I'll ever buy hot sauce again! The only thing I changed was to reduce the vinegar to 3/4 cup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I used half the vinegar and bf deseededless then half the jalapenos. Next time we will deseed more because it is hot! Good tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was a really good green sauce. Makes a large amount - more then I can use - but this was still a yummy green sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I add a bit of sugar and also a teaspoon of cumin, but otherwise make it just as directed. So good on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Wow, thanks for sharing. I followed some reviews so, I didn't put all the vinegar but it is a good base. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Serving size should be more specific (i.e. volume). 16 servings makes roughly 25 ounces. I don't know how many people consider a serving size to be over an ounce when dealing with a sauce this hot. Be careful when you're sauteing over the stove, fumes will be noxious. I did like everyone else and cut vinegar by 1/4 cup (so 3/4 vinegar), and added a bit of sugar (1/3 cup). I also added a habanero and 3 serranos, along with a dash of liquid smoke. In retrospect I probably could have omitted the extra peppers and it would be perfect. It's got a heat that sticks to you pretty good. If you're real adventurous, add a few other varied peppers for a bit of extra kick. Overall a good base, but certainly needs tweaking to individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States