Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Love love love this recipe. the sauce is simple yet has such wonderful flavor. We made massive batches of it during the summer and gave away to friends. one thing we added to the recipe if we ran out of jalapenos, was bell and banana peppers from our garden. it gave it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I love the way everyone puts a different spin on this. I use a large onion, 6 large cloves garlic, half tspn mexican oregano, a couple of bay leaves, half cup white wine vinager, juice of 1 lime and the jalapenos. Doctors got me on a strict diet and I love spicy foods. I eat a lot of salads so for a spicy salad dressing that's not pure fat I mix 1 part of this with 2 parts balsamic vinager 1 part EVOO and a pinch of cumin....yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BGreen502
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Good base for a hot sauce. I used a little less vinegar though. As you can see from my photo I also used not only Jalapeños, but about 16 Habañeros, Serranos and other small peppers I found bagged together at a local farmer's market. I also added some pineapple at the end to give it a wolf-in-sheep's-clothing first impression. I call it my See-You-In-The-Emergency-Room Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGreen502

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
awesome! Love it! I did all kinds of peppers from our garden! Every time it turned out wonderful.... HOT but wonderful! I processed the hot sauce for 10 minutes also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Pretty good. I used jalapenos from my garden that had already ripened to red and it made a nice orange color. Flavor was good, but I think it might be good with a little mustard powder added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This sauce is Emeril's recipe. You know it's got to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Good sauce, but original recipe is a way too vinegary. I reduced amount of vinegar to less than 1/2 cup and added juice of one lime. IMHO it makes it a lot better. Adding one or two habaneros makes it a little bit hotter, but more interesting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
this is such a great base recipe for hot sauce!! I didn't think the jalapenos would be hot enough for our taste, so I halved the recipe and used 6 jalapenos, 5 serrano peppers and 1 habanero pepper. I kept the garlic at 3 cloves and added 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp mexican oregano. After I blended it all, I left half of the sauce thicker with the pulp, and the other half I pushed through a strainer so it was just like the consistency of tobasco sauce - both ways are fabulous!! next time I'll probably do half and half jalapenos and habaneros cause we like it HOT! thanks so much for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Followed as written and it was excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Good basic recipe. I made this last year with about 200 thai peppers, boy was it hot. this year I added a habanero, cayenne and the thai peppers..i also would recommend adding some red and green bell peppers to add some flavor. great on tuna fish sandwhiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States