Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
The original poster left out one big step (this is an Emeril Lagasse recipe, btw), which is why many people don't like all the vinegar. After you've finished the sauce, you're supposed to let it age in the fridge for 2 weeks. It's not going to taste right immediately after it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
When I made my version of this sauce I used these ingredients, plus 3 pablano peppers and about double the salt. My prep for this a bit different though because I'm not fond of the outer skins in my sauces. I foil wrapped the onion (sweet yellow) oil, & garlic together and roasted them on the grill, and grilled and bagged the peppers. When everything cooled to the touch, I peeled and stemmed the peppers, blended everything smooth and added the vinegar and salt to taste. Then canned it as I would pizza sauce. I am really happy with the roasted flavor, and the tanginess of the vinegar plus sweetness of the caramelized sweet onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I tweeked the recipe using 5 or more small tomatoes blanching them in the same water for 50 seconds, allowing to cool then pulling off the skins. also like other folks I cut the vinager in half,left out the oil & doubled the garlic. The tomatoes give it the sweetness and balances very well. It's a keeper if your growing peppers and tomatoes. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fun in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I tried a double batch of this, following the ingredients list with addition of a few habaneros. I removed most of the seeds. I like some acidity and didn't tamper with the vinegar. Great tasting sauce. Hot enough, but lots of flavor. The one variation I made was pulling out some caps and the bottle capper from my home brew kit. Instead of putting this into jars, I used heat-sterilized 12 ounce beer bottles (not screw necks). A double recipe doesn't quite fill a sixpack . . . though it does result in more fluid than the blender can hold. I'd rather pour hotsauce than spoon it, so the beer bottles are great. Plus it provides an excuse to go buy a sixpack of some new microbrew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this sauce and just loved it! My family likes hot and they really liked the heat. I also cut back the vinegar some. I made salsa in the summer and it called for vinegar and I will have to cut back on it also. Great Recipe and so easy!! Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I read the other reviews and used 6 cloves of garlic (I wouldn't be afraid to use a couple more next time...) and limited the vinegar to about 1/2 cup. I also added a teaspoon of sugar while the ingredients were boiling with the water. I would definitely make this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Halfed the vinegar, and it turned out great! So easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColdNovember

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is great , yes , with some minor modifications . And why go to all the trouble of buying fresh jalapenos @ $3.29 a lb . , and then cooking everything ? We bought a 16 oz. jar of packed-in-water jalapenos , dumped it all in the blender , threw in about a TBL of dried minced onion, maybe a half tsp of supermarket minced garlic , a quick glug of more water , maybe a quarter cup of vinegar , half a tsp salt , 2 tsp of sugar .... let it spin on high for a couple of minutes ...... GOOD!!! This makes about 24 oz , perfect for that big empty cottage cheese container. My sensitive wife and kids mix it with mayo for a killer BLT . Make this. Yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
We made this with a combination of hot peppers, including three habaneros. My husband loved it - and hopefully the person we're gifting it to will as well! One word of caution - open ALL the doors and windows - and wear a respirator while it's cooking. That's what we had to resort to because we couldn't breath between the coughing and sneezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This hot sauce is really good. I only made minor changes to modify it. Followed recipe exactly as is, however added more garlic and onion. Following others advice I also reduced the amount of vinegar, using only 1/2 cup. This recipe makes a huge batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States