Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this sauce and just loved it! My family likes hot and they really liked the heat. I also cut back the vinegar some. I made salsa in the summer and it called for vinegar and I will have to cut back on it also. Great Recipe and so easy!! Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I read the other reviews and used 6 cloves of garlic (I wouldn't be afraid to use a couple more next time...) and limited the vinegar to about 1/2 cup. I also added a teaspoon of sugar while the ingredients were boiling with the water. I would definitely make this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Halfed the vinegar, and it turned out great! So easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColdNovember

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is great , yes , with some minor modifications . And why go to all the trouble of buying fresh jalapenos @ $3.29 a lb . , and then cooking everything ? We bought a 16 oz. jar of packed-in-water jalapenos , dumped it all in the blender , threw in about a TBL of dried minced onion, maybe a half tsp of supermarket minced garlic , a quick glug of more water , maybe a quarter cup of vinegar , half a tsp salt , 2 tsp of sugar .... let it spin on high for a couple of minutes ...... GOOD!!! This makes about 24 oz , perfect for that big empty cottage cheese container. My sensitive wife and kids mix it with mayo for a killer BLT . Make this. Yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
We made this with a combination of hot peppers, including three habaneros. My husband loved it - and hopefully the person we're gifting it to will as well! One word of caution - open ALL the doors and windows - and wear a respirator while it's cooking. That's what we had to resort to because we couldn't breath between the coughing and sneezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This hot sauce is really good. I only made minor changes to modify it. Followed recipe exactly as is, however added more garlic and onion. Following others advice I also reduced the amount of vinegar, using only 1/2 cup. This recipe makes a huge batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This hasn't been reviewed for a while but I use it a couple times a year and thought I would add my two cents: I use it as a base recipe. I roast whatever chilis I have ripe at that moment; mostly jalapenos and don't bother to peel them, during the simmering step I add a bit of dried mango or apricot. I make sure it simmers long enough to soften enough to get fully pureed later and I don't add enough that anyone can taste it but it "rounds out" the flavor and heat really nicely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phil
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is my first year growing Hot peppers. Nice and easy way to use up several peppers at one time. I used red ripe Jalapeno's from my garden and the sauce turned out great. This is a great base recipe, easily altered to one's own tastes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Enjoyed recipie, and all the comments! I put a spin on this recipie based on what was in the Garden. in 2-3 qt Pot; I simmered 3 Carrots-chopped (colour and sweet), 1 large beet-chopped (Color and sweet) with some water (eough to cover veggies-but no more), and 1 TBS Wondra (thickner-as needed), and some cracked malted barley (brew day-thickner). Pinch of Tumeric and Cumin (Preservative and color). Basically tried to create a thick sweet Bright color base. when I was happy, added 1 TBS Sea salt, 1/4 cup vinagar, 1 TBS lemon juice (acid caning process-Rule 2 TBS per quart). - Sauted with oil; 2 cups de-seeded Jalapeno, chopped (Red), with three schotch bonnette pepper-de seeded ( heat and bright color), and three large garlic bulbs. Sauted until moisture was starting to reduce, and smell enhanced. - I would have added Cilantro but the wife got it first. - Sanitized small mason jars, and filled Hot. Lids sealed when cooled. - I could not stop eating the left over sauce from the PAN, and the colour was awsome!!. Please give us some more comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for a couple of reasons. First, because it's so darn easy to make. Second, because anything THIS fiery couldn't be rated a bit less. I used Jalapenos from my garden, a good mix of green and red peppers that we didn't gut at all. My sauce ended up being an orange color. After reading most of the reviews, I opted to use half the amount of vinegar. Glad I did. I made a triple batch, put it in half pint jars, then in a hot water bath for 15 minutes and I'm excited to see how it tastes after letting it rest a bit. Cooking it took our breath away. It was a sneeze/cough/sniffle fit while we were making it but a really exciting experiment. Our little tastes samples left our tongues on fire and we're looking forward to really putting this yummy, super hot sauce to the test on some of our much too macho friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States