Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I was excited after seeing the reviews, but the recipe was a disappointment :( No flavour. Going to play around a little more and see if I can salvage it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Cut the water/vineger to 1/4 cup each and added a 1/4 cup of lime juice. The reicipe came out too watery, so I boiled a couple of small diced potatos and added it to the Blendtec to thicken the sauce. Came out wonderful, no taste of the potatos! Thanks Rayna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OROSI RILEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie  Norris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I agree with most other reviews about this recipe. The vinegar should be cut in half. I made this recipe will all red jalapenos and used 1/2 cup of vinegar and it made a mighty fine hot sauce. Those are the only changes I made. I am looking forward to using it and to see how it will mature in a week or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
A good base recipe, but agree with other commentors and used about half as much vinegar and added 2 tbsp sugar. Seemed a good balance. I also added the juice of 1 lime. I wanted a slightly chunkier sauce, more like sambal olek chili paste, so I cut water in half. That gave me the consistency I was looking for, but that's a personal preference. Finally, I went for a full on canning of these jars in a water bath canner so they would keep longer, so to compensate, I cut the time cooking the pepper/onion mix to 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Sugar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I always plant 6 jalapeno plants in the spring since a 6 pack is only $1.25. By the end of the summer I have so many peppers I never knew what to do with them. I stumbled on this recipe and tried it for the first time. I loved it and I like the extra vinegar taste. I use this hot sauce on everything. I even look for things to cook just so I can use this sauce. So fresh tasting and purely jalapeno flavored. I am already on my 3rd batch this year and this one I am only using red jalapenos that have been on the plant so long that they turned red. I also have added some banana peppers to cut the heat a little on one batch which also worked out great. One other trick I tried from another recipe was to add one fresh (uncooked) jalapeno at the very end of the cooking prior to blending it just to give it an extra bright green color and fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
The original poster left out one big step (this is an Emeril Lagasse recipe, btw), which is why many people don't like all the vinegar. After you've finished the sauce, you're supposed to let it age in the fridge for 2 weeks. It's not going to taste right immediately after it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
When I made my version of this sauce I used these ingredients, plus 3 pablano peppers and about double the salt. My prep for this a bit different though because I'm not fond of the outer skins in my sauces. I foil wrapped the onion (sweet yellow) oil, & garlic together and roasted them on the grill, and grilled and bagged the peppers. When everything cooled to the touch, I peeled and stemmed the peppers, blended everything smooth and added the vinegar and salt to taste. Then canned it as I would pizza sauce. I am really happy with the roasted flavor, and the tanginess of the vinegar plus sweetness of the caramelized sweet onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I tweeked the recipe using 5 or more small tomatoes blanching them in the same water for 50 seconds, allowing to cool then pulling off the skins. also like other folks I cut the vinager in half,left out the oil & doubled the garlic. The tomatoes give it the sweetness and balances very well. It's a keeper if your growing peppers and tomatoes. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fun in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I tried a double batch of this, following the ingredients list with addition of a few habaneros. I removed most of the seeds. I like some acidity and didn't tamper with the vinegar. Great tasting sauce. Hot enough, but lots of flavor. The one variation I made was pulling out some caps and the bottle capper from my home brew kit. Instead of putting this into jars, I used heat-sterilized 12 ounce beer bottles (not screw necks). A double recipe doesn't quite fill a sixpack . . . though it does result in more fluid than the blender can hold. I'd rather pour hotsauce than spoon it, so the beer bottles are great. Plus it provides an excuse to go buy a sixpack of some new microbrew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States