Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I tweeked the recipe using 5 or more small tomatoes blanching them in the same water for 50 seconds, allowing to cool then pulling off the skins. also like other folks I cut the vinager in half,left out the oil & doubled the garlic. The tomatoes give it the sweetness and balances very well. It's a keeper if your growing peppers and tomatoes. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fun in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I tried a double batch of this, following the ingredients list with addition of a few habaneros. I removed most of the seeds. I like some acidity and didn't tamper with the vinegar. Great tasting sauce. Hot enough, but lots of flavor. The one variation I made was pulling out some caps and the bottle capper from my home brew kit. Instead of putting this into jars, I used heat-sterilized 12 ounce beer bottles (not screw necks). A double recipe doesn't quite fill a sixpack . . . though it does result in more fluid than the blender can hold. I'd rather pour hotsauce than spoon it, so the beer bottles are great. Plus it provides an excuse to go buy a sixpack of some new microbrew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this sauce and just loved it! My family likes hot and they really liked the heat. I also cut back the vinegar some. I made salsa in the summer and it called for vinegar and I will have to cut back on it also. Great Recipe and so easy!! Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I read the other reviews and used 6 cloves of garlic (I wouldn't be afraid to use a couple more next time...) and limited the vinegar to about 1/2 cup. I also added a teaspoon of sugar while the ingredients were boiling with the water. I would definitely make this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Halfed the vinegar, and it turned out great! So easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColdNovember

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is great , yes , with some minor modifications . And why go to all the trouble of buying fresh jalapenos @ $3.29 a lb . , and then cooking everything ? We bought a 16 oz. jar of packed-in-water jalapenos , dumped it all in the blender , threw in about a TBL of dried minced onion, maybe a half tsp of supermarket minced garlic , a quick glug of more water , maybe a quarter cup of vinegar , half a tsp salt , 2 tsp of sugar .... let it spin on high for a couple of minutes ...... GOOD!!! This makes about 24 oz , perfect for that big empty cottage cheese container. My sensitive wife and kids mix it with mayo for a killer BLT . Make this. Yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
We made this with a combination of hot peppers, including three habaneros. My husband loved it - and hopefully the person we're gifting it to will as well! One word of caution - open ALL the doors and windows - and wear a respirator while it's cooking. That's what we had to resort to because we couldn't breath between the coughing and sneezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This hot sauce is really good. I only made minor changes to modify it. Followed recipe exactly as is, however added more garlic and onion. Following others advice I also reduced the amount of vinegar, using only 1/2 cup. This recipe makes a huge batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This hasn't been reviewed for a while but I use it a couple times a year and thought I would add my two cents: I use it as a base recipe. I roast whatever chilis I have ripe at that moment; mostly jalapenos and don't bother to peel them, during the simmering step I add a bit of dried mango or apricot. I make sure it simmers long enough to soften enough to get fully pureed later and I don't add enough that anyone can taste it but it "rounds out" the flavor and heat really nicely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phil
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is my first year growing Hot peppers. Nice and easy way to use up several peppers at one time. I used red ripe Jalapeno's from my garden and the sauce turned out great. This is a great base recipe, easily altered to one's own tastes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States