Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I really love this hot sauce but had to give it less than 5 stars because if I had made it precisely as instructed it wouldn't have been good. The first time I made this I nearly passed out because the vinegar was so overwhelming. I just halved the vinegar and it worked wonderfully for me. We make it all the time now and it's a staple in our kitchen. We eat it with eggs and potatoes, tacos... anything that needs a little kick. We even add it to beans when we are making refried beans. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I agree with the other posts... this needed a little work. I think adding sugar, subtracting lots of vinegar, and throwing a habanero or two in will help quite a bit. I also added a bit of cilantro and lemon juice just for fun and it worked out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Ive been looking for hot sauce recipes and really liked this but it was really hot! May seed some of the chilies next time. Used a veggie slicer on peppers and it saved alot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Great Hot Sauce. Pretty hot. Hubby loves it. Followed other reviews and added only 1/4 cup vinegar and some sugar like a teaspoon or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A nice tasting sauce with a bit of bite. Add a few habaneros if you want to heat it up. I also doubled the garlic and used 3/4 cup of vinegar which I could have cut back even more but I wanted to keep the consistency more liquidy than thick. I would suggest staying away from sugar for any true hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Well I used this as a "starter" recipe. BUT.. I used 6 jalapeno's, 9 Red HOT Peppers AND 2 Habanero's. Also a 1/3 cup vinegar and 3tbsp's of sugar. Gave it a deceiving taste...sweet..then mega hot. Darn Fine Hot Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Nice basic recipe to build off of but to make it as it is makes a very boring bland sauce thats not very hot and way to much vinegar taste. Will definately use this recipe as a base(starting point) but never again just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I agree with other reviews, too much vinegar; otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars. I used 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, and it seemed like just enough. I left all the seeds in my peppers, and it was super hot. I also added an extra garlic clove and about a Tbl of sugar. This is a sauce that will get better over time, so I am looking forward to how it develops. A great way to use up the jalapenos from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
WHo would have thought this was going to taste so good? I added a bit of sugar, and it made it even etter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I only used 1/2 cup vinegar. It is fantastic! everyone loved it. We even dipped tortilla chips in it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States