Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a great starter recipe! I just gave it a whirl with some miscellaneous peppers from the garden and it worked great. I'm going to try some variations on it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I purchased a basket of jalapenos at a cheap price but didn't know exactly what to do with them. Then I found this recipe. My family has used this sauce on nachos, french fries, chicken and burgers. We absolutely love it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I only used 1/2 cup vinegar. It is fantastic! everyone loved it. We even dipped tortilla chips in it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Delicious sauce! Added some habanero peppers and lemon juice for added bite. This one is better than any bottled green sauce and I love that I can control the amount of salt (my biggest issue with bottled sauces). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I really love this hot sauce but had to give it less than 5 stars because if I had made it precisely as instructed it wouldn't have been good. The first time I made this I nearly passed out because the vinegar was so overwhelming. I just halved the vinegar and it worked wonderfully for me. We make it all the time now and it's a staple in our kitchen. We eat it with eggs and potatoes, tacos... anything that needs a little kick. We even add it to beans when we are making refried beans. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My husband and I made this to use up jalapenos from my parents' garden, and we love it! It has a great heat to it, but not too much to block out the great pepper flavor of the sauce. We did reduce the vinegar like many have suggested, and added some fresno peppers. This is definitely one we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A nice tasting sauce with a bit of bite. Add a few habaneros if you want to heat it up. I also doubled the garlic and used 3/4 cup of vinegar which I could have cut back even more but I wanted to keep the consistency more liquidy than thick. I would suggest staying away from sugar for any true hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Well I used this as a "starter" recipe. BUT.. I used 6 jalapeno's, 9 Red HOT Peppers AND 2 Habanero's. Also a 1/3 cup vinegar and 3tbsp's of sugar. Gave it a deceiving taste...sweet..then mega hot. Darn Fine Hot Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Great Hot Sauce. Pretty hot. Hubby loves it. Followed other reviews and added only 1/4 cup vinegar and some sugar like a teaspoon or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Used jalapenos from the garden and nayonaise (soy mayo) and it turned out too hot. I'll try hungarians or less jalapenos next time with less vinegar as well. I'd make again for a good spicy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States