Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My husband and I made this to use up jalapenos from my parents' garden, and we love it! It has a great heat to it, but not too much to block out the great pepper flavor of the sauce. We did reduce the vinegar like many have suggested, and added some fresno peppers. This is definitely one we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A nice tasting sauce with a bit of bite. Add a few habaneros if you want to heat it up. I also doubled the garlic and used 3/4 cup of vinegar which I could have cut back even more but I wanted to keep the consistency more liquidy than thick. I would suggest staying away from sugar for any true hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Well I used this as a "starter" recipe. BUT.. I used 6 jalapeno's, 9 Red HOT Peppers AND 2 Habanero's. Also a 1/3 cup vinegar and 3tbsp's of sugar. Gave it a deceiving taste...sweet..then mega hot. Darn Fine Hot Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Great Hot Sauce. Pretty hot. Hubby loves it. Followed other reviews and added only 1/4 cup vinegar and some sugar like a teaspoon or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Used jalapenos from the garden and nayonaise (soy mayo) and it turned out too hot. I'll try hungarians or less jalapenos next time with less vinegar as well. I'd make again for a good spicy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I used del sol's instead of jalapenos. Spicy hot. Everyone loved it. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I should give this 5 stars just because it made my husband cry LOL but he used serranos instead of jalapenos & he took a bite while the salsa was still warm. He also cut wayy back on the vinegar. He used rice vinegar & only used 1/4 of a cup. He also used raw sugar in the recipe & he loved the flavor it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I agree with the other posts... this needed a little work. I think adding sugar, subtracting lots of vinegar, and throwing a habanero or two in will help quite a bit. I also added a bit of cilantro and lemon juice just for fun and it worked out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
WHo would have thought this was going to taste so good? I added a bit of sugar, and it made it even etter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This is a great hot sauce for jalapeno lovers, like my self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States