Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was a really good green sauce. Makes a large amount - more then I can use - but this was still a yummy green sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I add a bit of sugar and also a teaspoon of cumin, but otherwise make it just as directed. So good on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Wow, thanks for sharing. I followed some reviews so, I didn't put all the vinegar but it is a good base. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Serving size should be more specific (i.e. volume). 16 servings makes roughly 25 ounces. I don't know how many people consider a serving size to be over an ounce when dealing with a sauce this hot. Be careful when you're sauteing over the stove, fumes will be noxious. I did like everyone else and cut vinegar by 1/4 cup (so 3/4 vinegar), and added a bit of sugar (1/3 cup). I also added a habanero and 3 serranos, along with a dash of liquid smoke. In retrospect I probably could have omitted the extra peppers and it would be perfect. It's got a heat that sticks to you pretty good. If you're real adventurous, add a few other varied peppers for a bit of extra kick. Overall a good base, but certainly needs tweaking to individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
WARNING WARNING Do not breath the fumes over the pan while its cooking or cooling. You can actually burn your lungs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Love this recipe!!! Picked the jalapenos this morning and used a whole Vidalia onion. Fantastic!!! Puts my favorite green Texas Pete to shame!!! I did use 3/4 cup of vinegar based on some of the reviews but I think a cup would be just fine. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yulladog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I have to agree, this is a great starter recipe for hot sauce. You could probably use any pepper you wanted. I added a little more onion, sugar as was suggested in the other posts, and a tad bit more vinegar (We like ours kinda vinegary). I would have given this a 5 star but the overall time to prepare/cook seemed to be a little off--but I did de-seed the jalapenos first. Mine came from garden to kitchen same day. Great recipe. Gonna bottle some up and give to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is great. I often end up with large numbers of peppers and this is a great use for them, delicious and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a great starter recipe! I just gave it a whirl with some miscellaneous peppers from the garden and it worked great. I'm going to try some variations on it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I purchased a basket of jalapenos at a cheap price but didn't know exactly what to do with them. Then I found this recipe. My family has used this sauce on nachos, french fries, chicken and burgers. We absolutely love it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States