Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Good sauce, but original recipe is a way too vinegary. I reduced amount of vinegar to less than 1/2 cup and added juice of one lime. IMHO it makes it a lot better. Adding one or two habaneros makes it a little bit hotter, but more interesting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
this is such a great base recipe for hot sauce!! I didn't think the jalapenos would be hot enough for our taste, so I halved the recipe and used 6 jalapenos, 5 serrano peppers and 1 habanero pepper. I kept the garlic at 3 cloves and added 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp mexican oregano. After I blended it all, I left half of the sauce thicker with the pulp, and the other half I pushed through a strainer so it was just like the consistency of tobasco sauce - both ways are fabulous!! next time I'll probably do half and half jalapenos and habaneros cause we like it HOT! thanks so much for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Followed as written and it was excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Good basic recipe. I made this last year with about 200 thai peppers, boy was it hot. this year I added a habanero, cayenne and the thai peppers..i also would recommend adding some red and green bell peppers to add some flavor. great on tuna fish sandwhiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Like many others, I found this to be a great stating point. I went half jalapeno half chile pepper fresh from my garden, and left most of the seeds in for heat. Added juice from 1 lemon and about a table spoon of sugar. It came out more like a Sriracha sauce, thicker and sweeter at first then the heat. Hoping to get another big load of peppers before the end of sumer. I will try it again with some more changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
really HOT doesn't add just heat also adds flavor which is not good in a hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was awesome. I did take one persons advised and used only half the amount of vinegar. I chopped up an avocado and mixed in the blender with some of the sauce. It was delicious. My brothers who like hot food loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I agree with other reviews, too much vinegar; otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars. I used 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, and it seemed like just enough. I left all the seeds in my peppers, and it was super hot. I also added an extra garlic clove and about a Tbl of sugar. This is a sauce that will get better over time, so I am looking forward to how it develops. A great way to use up the jalapenos from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I've made this twice, once as the recipe calls and another making some slight changes. Both times they're very very good. The second time I made it I added 1 packed tablespoon of brown sugar, 1 tsp cumin, and 1 tsp ancho chili powder. I also cooked the 2 habaneros with the jalapenos which really helped the heat quite a bit. I liked it better the second way. The amount of vinegar is just right, since this stuff is supposed to be very very similar to tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Selley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I have been looking for a recipe to make my red hot cracked Jalapeno's into a hot sauce, this is a perfect way of doing it. I followed the recipe except I used olive oil, in place of veg. oil, and used 1/4 cup of vinegar instead of 1 cup. mmmmm good if you can let your Jalapenos stay on the plant until they look real ugly and red makes for a better sweet kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States