Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Good sauce, but original recipe is a way too vinegary. I reduced amount of vinegar to less than 1/2 cup and added juice of one lime. IMHO it makes it a lot better. Adding one or two habaneros makes it a little bit hotter, but more interesting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
this is such a great base recipe for hot sauce!! I didn't think the jalapenos would be hot enough for our taste, so I halved the recipe and used 6 jalapenos, 5 serrano peppers and 1 habanero pepper. I kept the garlic at 3 cloves and added 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp mexican oregano. After I blended it all, I left half of the sauce thicker with the pulp, and the other half I pushed through a strainer so it was just like the consistency of tobasco sauce - both ways are fabulous!! next time I'll probably do half and half jalapenos and habaneros cause we like it HOT! thanks so much for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Followed as written and it was excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Good basic recipe. I made this last year with about 200 thai peppers, boy was it hot. this year I added a habanero, cayenne and the thai peppers..i also would recommend adding some red and green bell peppers to add some flavor. great on tuna fish sandwhiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Like many others, I found this to be a great stating point. I went half jalapeno half chile pepper fresh from my garden, and left most of the seeds in for heat. Added juice from 1 lemon and about a table spoon of sugar. It came out more like a Sriracha sauce, thicker and sweeter at first then the heat. Hoping to get another big load of peppers before the end of sumer. I will try it again with some more changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
really HOT doesn't add just heat also adds flavor which is not good in a hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was awesome. I did take one persons advised and used only half the amount of vinegar. I chopped up an avocado and mixed in the blender with some of the sauce. It was delicious. My brothers who like hot food loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I agree with other reviews, too much vinegar; otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars. I used 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, and it seemed like just enough. I left all the seeds in my peppers, and it was super hot. I also added an extra garlic clove and about a Tbl of sugar. This is a sauce that will get better over time, so I am looking forward to how it develops. A great way to use up the jalapenos from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I've made this twice, once as the recipe calls and another making some slight changes. Both times they're very very good. The second time I made it I added 1 packed tablespoon of brown sugar, 1 tsp cumin, and 1 tsp ancho chili powder. I also cooked the 2 habaneros with the jalapenos which really helped the heat quite a bit. I liked it better the second way. The amount of vinegar is just right, since this stuff is supposed to be very very similar to tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I have been looking for a recipe to make my red hot cracked Jalapeno's into a hot sauce, this is a perfect way of doing it. I followed the recipe except I used olive oil, in place of veg. oil, and used 1/4 cup of vinegar instead of 1 cup. mmmmm good if you can let your Jalapenos stay on the plant until they look real ugly and red makes for a better sweet kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States