Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great sauce! I reduced vinegar to 1/2 cup based on other reviews but then tasted it, and added about 1/4 cup more. Perfect. May have been ok with the full cup, but I stopped at 3/4 cup. Can't wait to make taco's and try this out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscumbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
AWESOME! I used 5 cloves of garlic and reduced the vinegar to 1/2 cup, as per other reviewers...so good! As I was cutting the peppers I was worried about how hot this was gonna end up being, but after all was said and done, it had the perfect amount of heat for me! I can't wait for my hubby to come home and try it, I just know he is gonna love it too! From now on, anytime I have an abundance of jalapenos, I will turn to this simple, yet delicious recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Looks tike a good base.Will be making this with a few adjustments.Has anyone canned this??? Have lots of peppers and use a lot of hot sauce over the year. Would like to make extra and can..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Yay! I made use of my garden jalapenos with this recipe. It's good! I did halve the vinegar as per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Though much too hot for me, my husband loved it! I doubled the garlic and reduced the white vinegar to 3/4 cup. Next time I'll reduce the vinegar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Love love love this recipe. the sauce is simple yet has such wonderful flavor. We made massive batches of it during the summer and gave away to friends. one thing we added to the recipe if we ran out of jalapenos, was bell and banana peppers from our garden. it gave it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I love the way everyone puts a different spin on this. I use a large onion, 6 large cloves garlic, half tspn mexican oregano, a couple of bay leaves, half cup white wine vinager, juice of 1 lime and the jalapenos. Doctors got me on a strict diet and I love spicy foods. I eat a lot of salads so for a spicy salad dressing that's not pure fat I mix 1 part of this with 2 parts balsamic vinager 1 part EVOO and a pinch of cumin....yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BGreen502
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Good base for a hot sauce. I used a little less vinegar though. As you can see from my photo I also used not only Jalapeños, but about 16 Habañeros, Serranos and other small peppers I found bagged together at a local farmer's market. I also added some pineapple at the end to give it a wolf-in-sheep's-clothing first impression. I call it my See-You-In-The-Emergency-Room Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGreen502

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
awesome! Love it! I did all kinds of peppers from our garden! Every time it turned out wonderful.... HOT but wonderful! I processed the hot sauce for 10 minutes also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Pretty good. I used jalapenos from my garden that had already ripened to red and it made a nice orange color. Flavor was good, but I think it might be good with a little mustard powder added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States