Jalapeno Green Onion Ale Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is a good recipe. I baked for 30 minutes and it was underdone. The toothpick came out clean but there was a squishy spot in the middle. Definitely need to be careful with corn bread because I think the batter may be less likely to stick to the toothpick. I used Great Lakes Eliot Ness Amber Lager and that was perfect. I only used half the pepper's seeds and ribs and it was only mildly spicy, but that can depend on the pepper. I made 3 different corn bread recipes that night this included. I'll be looking for a slightly less dense recipe for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Stellar! Only changes we made were to substitute honey for the sugar, dice up some jarred jalepeno slices in place of a fresh pepper, and top with some cheddar cheese. Took a little longer to bake, but SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Delicious!! We mad this with some homemade chicken chili and it was the bomb. We also added some mild roasted red peppers and sprinkled a little grated cheddar across the top. Wish I'd doubled the batch---It was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made it as directed. Very nice texture- not too crumbly. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fields
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Really, really good. I made a double batch so my family could munch on it for a few days, and the jalapeños and green onion completely lost their flavor by the next day...it just tasted like corn bread. It was great the day of though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Loved this. Moist, tender, full of flavor, and adding some finely chopped red bell pepper made it pretty to boot. I don't care for sweet corn bread, so using just two tablespoons of sugar rather than 1/3 cup was just right. Can't say I would have enjoyed this nearly as much had I used that much sugar. The size of the loaf pan wasn't specified - I used an 8x4," baking about 27 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made it exactly as is with no changes and it was awesome! Actually I take that back..I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I soured some regular milk with vinegar which is always a great substitute when you run out of buttermilk. The cornbread was a little sweet but not too sweet & a little spicy but not too spicy. The balance was perfect. I made this to go with chili and it was a great combo together. I will definitely make again & will not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
We enjoyed this corn bread served with 'Pork and Black Bean Stew' from AR. I made a half batch and baked it in a casserole dish in the toaster oven. My jalapeños had turned red, so they were warm but not as warm as a green one would have been. A tasty corn bread that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Moist and flavorful. Goes great with chili. Spread on a little butter delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Didn't have jalapeno on hand so used thai green chilis, seeded. What a great recipe, so delicious. I'll make this one again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States