Jalapeno Garlic Tilapia Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
wasn't too hard for a novice like me... tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is my first review but I had to, this was amazing! I made it "lighter" so I didn't feel guilty. Instead of dipping in melted butter I just sprayed a little "I can't believe it's butter" then dipped in flour. Used half/half instead of cream and a dash of chicken stock to help make more sauce.. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My husband said this was the best dish I had ever made. I love linguini with clam sauce, but never could get it the way I wanted. I tried this recipe and found it (only with tilapia). So so good. Even my 4 year old ate two bowls. I made a few changes though. I doubled everything in the sauce (including butter and garlic). I Didn't have any cream, so I used equal amount of evaporated milk, no lemon so I used half the amount of apple cider vinegar and left out jalapenos and cayenne pepper and used a few canned Roma tomatoes instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This has become a monthly favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluewillowjane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I really love this recipe, it was very easy and very yummy! I also, added more sauce as suggested (2/3 heavy cream and 1/3 lemon juice) and it turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This dish (with a few modifications) is absolutely one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten. If you're browsing this site looking for something to do with those fillets you've got in the freezer, STOP LOOKING NOW!! You've found it! First of all, I recommend serving it over rice instead of pasta. I've tried both, and rice just seems to fit better. Secondly, the amount of liquid listed in the recipe is nowhere near enough. I use 2/3 cup cream and 1/3 cup lemon juice (for 4 fillets). I also use more jalapenos, enough to fill 1 cup when diced. Usually that amounts to about 4 largish ones or 6 smaller ones. Finally, the listed amount of cayenne pepper might be a little too strong for some people, especially with the increased amount of jalapenos. I use 1/4 teaspoon and it still packs a nice punch without burning your mouth off. Follow the directions as listed, except mix together the sauce ingredients (except the spinach and tomato) in a measuring cup FIRST. If you add them all the skillet one by one, mixing them will be impossible without breaking up the tilapia. When mixing in the spinach later, add a little bit at at time to make mixing it in easier. Put the rice (or pasta) on the plate first, then top it with the sauce and fillets. Finally, I recommend sprinkling the chopped tomato over top of the fillets after they're on the plate. That way the tomato pieces will stay firm, and plus it adds a lot to the presentation. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
My family really loved this dish. My youngest son proclaimed it to be 'perfect'! The only changes I really made to the recipe were to add extra spinache, because we all love it, and just about tripled the sauce...otherwise it would have been much drier. I was looking for quick and easy recipes for a change of pace to spice up my repertoire, and this one really hit the spot. I will be making this again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I make this a few times a month and we LOVE it. We also make more sauce (maybe triple the amount called for), and I also add sun-dried tomatoes because I think it gives it even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This dish was awesome! The only thing I did differently is that I didn't bother with dredging the tilapia in flour before frying, and I also made double (maybe triple) the sauce. It is ALL about the sauce. I agree with others that this may be better over rice, of even over linguini perhaps. I don't think penne is a good match. I will definitely keep this in my line-up and will also try it with shrimp and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyDarlingNiki
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I thought this was very tasty. I also would double the recipe for the sauce and maybe use half the salt that the recipe calls for. The sauce was great on the pasta by itself too and could be served without the fish altogether i think. I didn't have tilapia so i used mahi mahi and it held up great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States