Jalapeno Garlic Tilapia Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is a yummy recipe, however, I made a few changes. Instead of the penne pasta I used boil in a bag white rice. I also added some cilantro in for taste. And instead of heavy cream I used 2% fat milk. My fish began to crumble when I put the other ingredients in so I stirred everything in except for the rice and created a gumbo-like mixture. I forgot to put in the spinach, but it turned out delicious anyway. I placed the mixture over a bed of boil in the bag rice, because I have not perfected my rice cooking skills. It turned out excellent. It reminded us of a Pappadeaux menu item. My husband was extremely pleased and I will most definitely make this again. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a delicious dish. We loved it. The next time I make it I will make double the sauce because it is so great. That is the only thing I would change though - very tasty and has a kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I just finished using a portion of this recipe, i omitted the pasta & spinach, i added seasoned panko to my batter, used an entire can of jalapeno (minced in my food processor) and drained most of the oil before adding the ingredients for the sauce. The sauce makes the dish, so don't let it be absorded by pasta and spinach. Put your veggie on the side and enjoy the jalapeno sauce on the fish! I paired it with the southwestern roasted corn recipe also found on this site. Got rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This dish (with a few modifications) is absolutely one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten. If you're browsing this site looking for something to do with those fillets you've got in the freezer, STOP LOOKING NOW!! You've found it! First of all, I recommend serving it over rice instead of pasta. I've tried both, and rice just seems to fit better. Secondly, the amount of liquid listed in the recipe is nowhere near enough. I use 2/3 cup cream and 1/3 cup lemon juice (for 4 fillets). I also use more jalapenos, enough to fill 1 cup when diced. Usually that amounts to about 4 largish ones or 6 smaller ones. Finally, the listed amount of cayenne pepper might be a little too strong for some people, especially with the increased amount of jalapenos. I use 1/4 teaspoon and it still packs a nice punch without burning your mouth off. Follow the directions as listed, except mix together the sauce ingredients (except the spinach and tomato) in a measuring cup FIRST. If you add them all the skillet one by one, mixing them will be impossible without breaking up the tilapia. When mixing in the spinach later, add a little bit at at time to make mixing it in easier. Put the rice (or pasta) on the plate first, then top it with the sauce and fillets. Finally, I recommend sprinkling the chopped tomato over top of the fillets after they're on the plate. That way the tomato pieces will stay firm, and plus it adds a lot to the presentation. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Great recipe, the fish came out crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. The flavor was delicious. Pasta didn't really seem to go with it. There was very little sauce left over after pan frying the fish. Maybe I messed up somewhere but I would have preferred the fish with some couscous or rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by O Side Doughboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
omitted the jalapenos, doubled sauce recipe with 1/2 cream 1/2 whole milk. it was phenomenal. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very good! Next time I will make it with shrimp because the fish doesnt hold up. I added some cajun seasoning to it for extra flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I've made this at least 3 times since I found it and we love it! I serve the fish over brown rice and spoon the spicy cream and tomatoes over it instead of mixing everything together. And, even though we love spicy, I cut the cayenne in half and it still has a good kick for us. My super picky husband loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I wasn't sure how much I'd like this recipe. It was such a pleasant surprise how delicious it really was. Perfect amount of heat. Great use of tilapia. I think next time though, I wont fry the fish and just cook it as is. The sauce provided so much flavor I think frying it is unnecessary. I think the tilapia could easily be substituted with chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
very very tasty, used whole wheat pasta and tortilla crusted talapia. Added chopped cilantro at the end with the tomatos. I agree, you need to double the sauce recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teschrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States