Jalapeno Garlic Tilapia Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I really love this recipe, it was very easy and very yummy! I also, added more sauce as suggested (2/3 heavy cream and 1/3 lemon juice) and it turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This dish (with a few modifications) is absolutely one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten. If you're browsing this site looking for something to do with those fillets you've got in the freezer, STOP LOOKING NOW!! You've found it! First of all, I recommend serving it over rice instead of pasta. I've tried both, and rice just seems to fit better. Secondly, the amount of liquid listed in the recipe is nowhere near enough. I use 2/3 cup cream and 1/3 cup lemon juice (for 4 fillets). I also use more jalapenos, enough to fill 1 cup when diced. Usually that amounts to about 4 largish ones or 6 smaller ones. Finally, the listed amount of cayenne pepper might be a little too strong for some people, especially with the increased amount of jalapenos. I use 1/4 teaspoon and it still packs a nice punch without burning your mouth off. Follow the directions as listed, except mix together the sauce ingredients (except the spinach and tomato) in a measuring cup FIRST. If you add them all the skillet one by one, mixing them will be impossible without breaking up the tilapia. When mixing in the spinach later, add a little bit at at time to make mixing it in easier. Put the rice (or pasta) on the plate first, then top it with the sauce and fillets. Finally, I recommend sprinkling the chopped tomato over top of the fillets after they're on the plate. That way the tomato pieces will stay firm, and plus it adds a lot to the presentation. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
My family really loved this dish. My youngest son proclaimed it to be 'perfect'! The only changes I really made to the recipe were to add extra spinache, because we all love it, and just about tripled the sauce...otherwise it would have been much drier. I was looking for quick and easy recipes for a change of pace to spice up my repertoire, and this one really hit the spot. I will be making this again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I make this a few times a month and we LOVE it. We also make more sauce (maybe triple the amount called for), and I also add sun-dried tomatoes because I think it gives it even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This dish was awesome! The only thing I did differently is that I didn't bother with dredging the tilapia in flour before frying, and I also made double (maybe triple) the sauce. It is ALL about the sauce. I agree with others that this may be better over rice, of even over linguini perhaps. I don't think penne is a good match. I will definitely keep this in my line-up and will also try it with shrimp and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyDarlingNiki
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I thought this was very tasty. I also would double the recipe for the sauce and maybe use half the salt that the recipe calls for. The sauce was great on the pasta by itself too and could be served without the fish altogether i think. I didn't have tilapia so i used mahi mahi and it held up great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Awesome! One of the best things I have ever tasted! Very spicy! My husband loved it too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
easy and amazing thats enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I don't see how anyone can cook 4 pieces of fish in 2tbs of oil. I should have made an adjustment but decided to follow the recipe's measurements since no one mentioned it. The flour just caked up in the pan. I made it again minus the flour a nd added more oil but would still only give this one star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
So awesome- the lemon juice makes the sauce. We did not have spinach so served it over chopped romaine lettuce as a pasta salad. It was even good cold. Also easy to make it kid-friendly by removing fish before step 3 and serving with some reserved pasta on the side. 2 and a half year old has refused all fish to date until trying it cooked this way- she was licking her fingers before we even started eating. Yum, thanks. Neigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hork it Down Horse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States