Jalapeno-Garlic-Onion Cheeseburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I liked this burger. I added an extra jalapeno (with seeds) and some salt and pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
As is the recipe lacked flavor, which is why I only gave it a 3. To pump up the flavor I doubled the amount of onion, then sauteed the onion and garlic till caramel colored, added 1 TBSP of freshly ground black pepper and 1 tsp salt. I used diced pickled jalapenos instead of fresh. I skipped the cheese and I missed it. Next time I think I will try extra sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was okay. I read reviews that it could be bland, so I followed another review to add a teaspoon of Montreal Steak Seasoning. That was to the halved recipe so I thought it'd be extra flavorful. I also left the seeds in the jalapeno for spice, and made guacamole to top it. It was unfortunately still bland. I'll stick with the Tex-Mex Cajun Burger from this site. It has the same base as this burger, but the Cajun seasoning makes it outrageous. Thanks for the recipe - it's a good basic burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Not sure if I should be rating or not since I deviated from the original recipe. I didn't have fresh jalapeno so I used canned. I should have added more though, not spicy enough with the canned. Also only used one clove of garlic, and added about half a tsp of mccormick hamburger grill seasoning, salt and peppered the outside, and served on grilled texas toast with some grilled onions. I think with the fresh jalapenos and a little extra salt, these would have been perfect. I did add an egg to make sure it didn't fall apart on the grill as well as a small toss of bread crumbs to soak up some of the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Delicious! Tasty with a bit of a kick. If you don't like onions or spicy stuff go for a different burger, but if you do these are just right. You can adjust the amount of peppers, just don't overdo the onions or the burgers won't stay together well. Great on whole wheat buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was dee-licious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Ohhh these were good....I'm a fire-breathing native Texan so I love this spicy stuff. Awesome on toasted buns with a big spoonful of guacamole. I did add a teaspoon of Montreal steak blend just to balance the flavors a little and a good shake of Frank's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe. Quick, Easy, and Delicious. I did change a few things though. I added 1 egg to help keep the meat together. I also used 1 can of diced jalapenos instead of fresh ones. I used minced roasted garlic too. I cooked them on the stove due to it snow outside, but they turned out great! Will make these again for sure when I can use the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Good. I used 1/2 tsp. ground cumin with garlic salt and mild chili powder to taste. Topped 'em with Chihuahua cheese. Only condiments used were ketchup and avocado slices. Will make again but will use an extra jalapeno for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cicero, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Meatball Grinder

This Italian meatball sandwich is hefty and satisfying.

Bronco Burger

Here’s a spicy, manly man’s burger that’s perfect for tailgating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States