Jalapeno Cream Cheese Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Don't get mad at me, I am going to be one of those people who rates a somewhat adjusted recipe! I think the basic flavors are the same, so it deserves the score. We really enjoyed this. I collect the changes from the other reviews, i.e., grilled the chicken added beans (I used black bean soup); but also had to improvise when I bought the wrong enchilada sauce. Bought 8 oz of green taco sauce instead, which would not nearly be enough to make up for what I then read had to be 28oz of enchilada sauce! So I added about 1/3 c taco sauce, about 1/2 cup left over salsa from the frig, all the broth from the bean soup and 1 cup chicken stock. Also sautéed mince garlic with the onions instead of using powder. We thought this was DELISH and actually kind of Wow! My spices were fresh, perhaps that helped. It will definitely replace our old family recipe for chicken enchiladas (Sorry Mom!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Weatherly
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used this recipe with a few minor adjustments: I used corn tortilla/taco shells instead of flour (about 20 of them,) doubled the cream cheese, used three 10 oz cans of green enchilada sauce and used about 3-4 cups of shredded mexican variety cheese (I out some in the dish before the enchiladas were laid, put some in the chicken/cream cheese mix, then a spoon full on top before rolling the shells and then covered the enchiladas again at the end - if it's not clear, my family likes them cheesy!! :) ) I also doubled the dry ingredients in the stuffing mix since the cheese was doubled. They were a hit with my family and at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Weatherly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Yum! I used 4 oz of Neufatchel and a few dollops of fat free sour cream and also added fresh diced tomato to the enchiladas. I also grilled the chicken instead of baking it and used olive oil instead of butter. Great flavors - yummy, creamy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
These were deslish --- very creamy. Next time I'll take the advice and wear gloves when handling the jalapeno!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great recipe, I added a couple of finely chopped potatoes - really great addition!! I'm gonna try it with shredded beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
amazing recipe!!! everyone in my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Delicious! My hubby is not a big chicken fan, so I thought I would try this dish since he loves Mexican food. It was a big hit! It's quite a bit of work, but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These enchiladas were amazingly good. I stuck to the recipe and made it exactly as written. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These were very good. I used low fat options with the cream cheese, grated cheese, and sour cream and whole wheat tortillas and nobody complained about it being "healthy"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I loved this recipe. I did alter it a bit by cutting back to 1 jalapeno and I add black beans and shoepeg corn to the filling. It was met with rave reviews on Father's Day. I also used white corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States