Jalapeno Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now and have loved it both times. First time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I substituted tequila (reposado) for the sherry. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I have made this dish two years in a row and it's something my boyfriend and I look forward to during the holiday season. The dish is very easy to make and everyone is pleasantly surprised my the sweet tart flavor of the cranberry in the beginning and the smooth jalapeno taste at the end. I recommend using 1/2 cup of sugar to maintain the tartness of the cranberry and cut out some calories, leave the seeds of the jalapenos in if you like it spicy and allow mixture to reduce for 30 -45 minutes to get a jam like consistency that is ideal for turkey sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is the BEST cranberry sauce ever! I make it Ns share with friends. The only difference is I have used merlot in place of sherry and I add about a cup of dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I thought this was very nice. It's missing a little something compared to my usual recipe -- I think maybe I am just too set on allspice in my cranberry sauce -- but that's not the recipe's fault. I think I just got used to allspice in it and now it's weird when I don't have it (I did this same thing last year, added allspice after it cooled.) Anyway, I used 3 tiny home-grown jalapenos and that was plenty (and I have a decent heat tolerance). I think if you're using the big ones from the store, don't do more than 1 unless you're the kind of person who can bite a raw jalapeno and determine how hot it is from that. (I'm not, but I've seen it done!) I used sake because that's what I keep around for recipes that call for sherry and it was fine. I think Grand Marnier like someone else used would've been even better, a nice hit of orange would be great. No one in our family uses cranberry sauce with meat, but we like to put it over cream cheese (or cheese ball) & crackers as an appy while we wait for the turkey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Nice recipe although I only added one jalapeno for my family members who don't like too much spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was okay initially, but the longer it sat in the fridge the better it got. Like the others, I let the sauce cook for a little bit to kill the alcohol from the sherry. I guess I didn't cook long enough because it took a while for the flavor to die. But once it did, it was very tasty. I used this as a side for Cajun-style Turducken and leftovers to fill corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
AWESOME!! I don't even like cranberry but this was fantastic made it for thanksgiving and everyone RAVED about it!! I will make this to put over chicken or fish as well great recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Substituted brandy for sherry...O.M.G. ~ A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Richard and Milena
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was one of the easiest most tasteful recipes that I have ever made. I just used on jalapeno and I used 1/2 cup red wine because that is all I had in the house. It turn out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States