Jalapeno Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
The recipe doesn't include jalepenos!! How much should I add?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
Great! It has a combined taste of sourdough/cornbread with a bread like texture. I triple the jalapenos but I only chop them slightly instead of dicing. My guest raved. Made it two days in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Had a large get together that i had promised to bring jalapeno cornbread. I had never made it before so I found this recipe and decided to try it. We made it by hand as I had to make a quadruple batch. We found the recipe to be more like jalapeno bread with some cornmeal. I would change the ratio to 2/1 bread flour to corn meal. Definitely nice with the extra peppers! (THANKS!)We found that it had to cook for about an hour (cake pan) before it was not doughey any more. Also, butter the top and add some Kosher salt for a very nice twist! Overall loved it and will make it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
I make the dough in the bread machine and cook it in the oven. My coworkers beg for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Great bread! I used one whole jalapeno, (like things with a *kick*)--also added a bit of garlic powder, and onion flakes. I ended up having to add more water to my dough....probably b/c of the "extras" I threw in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
If you double the recipe be sure to add extra water (I eyed it). I tried it w/o the jalepenos and it still turned out great. I ended up making both a single batch (1/2 loaf) and double batch because my husband begged for more. This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Five stars in spite of it not tasting much like cornbread, it is so very good! The loaf size is way small. I am going to make it again and double everything, see if I can get a regular size loaf of bread out of it. I took another reviewer's idea and after baking, melted butter on top and then sprinkled with Coarse Salt. Don't let the size of the loaf fool you, it is very light. Worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Great! I added a whole jalapeno to this. My husband thought it was too much, but I loved it. Of course, I do love the Auntie Anne's jalapeno pretzels & he doesn't...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a wonderful cornbread! The corn gave it sweetness and of course, there was some heat from the hot pepper. I melted butter on top of it when I took it out of the oven, and sprinkled on a little cheese as well. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States