Jalapeno Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I must have done something wrong because the 1/2 cup of water just didn't do it for me...it couldn't form a dough for lack of moisture. So I added another 1/2 cup and the bread was really very good. (Perhaps I shouldn't have drained the corn? Next time I won't.) The texture was nice and the corn made it chewy. I would have prefered more of the hot pepper but my hubby preferred it as it was. I served this with ham and, had I served it with chili, hotter might have been better. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Really liked this recipe and the texture. Added a bit more jalapeno. Went great with chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I used canned corn. Too watery. Need to use fresh corn on the cob. Needed to add more flour to the mixture to make up for the water in the canned corn. But, other wise good recipe. Used more Jelepenos. Maybe next tiem add cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
Per other reviewers I was expecting a small loaf but not quite this small! I thought this bread certainly had to be heavy but I was pleasantly surprised by the light, chewy texture. I added extra jalapenos but thought that it could have used even more. If you have left-overs, try toasting slices and serving with breakfast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Not really corn bread. I opted to leave the corn out of the recipe. This recipe only made a very small (about half of bread machine pan) loaf. The bread itself was very good, but next time I'll omit the corn, double all the other ingredients, and hope to have a full loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Great! I added a whole jalapeno to this. My husband thought it was too much, but I loved it. Of course, I do love the Auntie Anne's jalapeno pretzels & he doesn't...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
I did as others suggested and increased the amount of peppers used in this bread and it turned out good. I was disappointed in how small the loaf turned out, but it may have had something to do with the express setting I used on my bread machine. My husband enjoyed it a lot and liked the kick the jalapenos gave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Great bread! I used one whole jalapeno, (like things with a *kick*)--also added a bit of garlic powder, and onion flakes. I ended up having to add more water to my dough....probably b/c of the "extras" I threw in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
Great! It has a combined taste of sourdough/cornbread with a bread like texture. I triple the jalapenos but I only chop them slightly instead of dicing. My guest raved. Made it two days in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States