Jalapeno Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Used 2 tbls of dried hot peppers and this was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
not enough liquid by far. I made the recipe for 20 servings to fill my bread machine at 4 cups - flavor was great but the bread was heavy and crumbely. This recipe needs your attention to get it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahoka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made this for New Years to go with our ham and beans. Wow this is really good. I did not change the recipe except adding the whole jalapeno. I baked in a #5 cast iron skillet (yes that is all it makes). Next time I will double this because I eat half by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Odd Bread, not really cornbread, not really bread. Taste is very bland, but did put it under Black-eyed peas and it was better. Not to sure this will be made again. Much prefer cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
From the start it didn't look like there was enough water to this recipe. It turned out okay. My family didn't like this bread. I don't think I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Used pepperoncinis instead of jelepenos (don't like too spicy of food) and a little extra water as suggested by someone else. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Five stars in spite of it not tasting much like cornbread, it is so very good! The loaf size is way small. I am going to make it again and double everything, see if I can get a regular size loaf of bread out of it. I took another reviewer's idea and after baking, melted butter on top and then sprinkled with Coarse Salt. Don't let the size of the loaf fool you, it is very light. Worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Had a large get together that i had promised to bring jalapeno cornbread. I had never made it before so I found this recipe and decided to try it. We made it by hand as I had to make a quadruple batch. We found the recipe to be more like jalapeno bread with some cornmeal. I would change the ratio to 2/1 bread flour to corn meal. Definitely nice with the extra peppers! (THANKS!)We found that it had to cook for about an hour (cake pan) before it was not doughey any more. Also, butter the top and add some Kosher salt for a very nice twist! Overall loved it and will make it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a wonderful cornbread! The corn gave it sweetness and of course, there was some heat from the hot pepper. I melted butter on top of it when I took it out of the oven, and sprinkled on a little cheese as well. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
If you double the recipe be sure to add extra water (I eyed it). I tried it w/o the jalepenos and it still turned out great. I ended up making both a single batch (1/2 loaf) and double batch because my husband begged for more. This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States