Jalapeno Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is 20 star worthy but I am a professed tweeker. I used Jiffy cornbread mix, only 1 egg,1 tsp. of sugar, sour cream in place of the buttermilk and added 1/2 cup of French Fried Onions in and on the top of the bread. WOW!!! Most excellent! Thank you Shelia this is a keeper;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
wow, so easy to make and I liked the melted butter idea because it gave the bread a nice golden crust. I used only two eggs and it still came out just right. When I took it out of the oven, my kitchen smelled wonderful. Perfect with Chili on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I liked the flavor, but didn't care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
It needed more jalapeños and less liquid, but beyond that it was a great base cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It was more like a corn pudding, too eggy/custard-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Not what I was expecting so was disappointed. The flavor was okay but I agree with previous comments that it seemed to be missing something (looking at other recipes I think it is flour), and it did have more of a wet quiche consistency rather than what you traditionally expect with cornbread. If I ever tried it again I would add flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This was really good but I wish I would have served it warm. I made it ahead of time and I think it would have been better straight out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was absolutely excellent! I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used regular milk, and it worked out quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAM
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I added extra cheese and used canola oil. Tastes just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
we can't get enough of this cornbread! it was perfect the way it was, but my preference is a little firmer (mine came out a little quiche like). I also wanted to make it slightly less caloricly dense... my tweaks: upped cornmeal to 1.5 cup, lowered corn oil to 1/3 cup, omitted cheese, used only 1tbsp butter in castiron pan. it's a hit with everyone who's tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States