Jalapeno Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jackie
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I just made this tonight to go with the ham and bean soup we made and its a very good recipe....I did tweak it just a bit by adding 2 tbls of sugar and I baked it in a cast iron skillet instead of the baking dish....I also removed it from the oven after 20 minutes and let it finish baking while cooling on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Super moist and tasty. I baked mine in a cast iron skillet and the butter made the crust brown and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Great recipe, especially for gluten-free guests. I did add an extra 1/2 cup of cornmeal because the mixture was a little runny (maybe i added too much liquid). Another thing I did was chop up the jalapeño and add it after I had put the mixture in the pan so that I could add it too just half. I was not sure if my gluten-free guest liked spicy food. The jalapeño side was eaten first. It was perfect, thanks for a great gluten-free cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
YUMMY! My husband said "I have never had corn bread so moist". I doubled the batch, made one without Japs and with... HAD to try both and I was very pleased... great with a chili. Thank you Sheila!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyjocooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I have been making this recipe for more than 15 years, the only difference my recipe has is to put half of the cheese in the batter and sprinkle the other half on top before putting it in the oven. My husband and his family love this corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was SO good! I used regular cornmeal instead of yellow cornmeal and added 2 cups of it instead of 1. Because I used the regular cornmeal i left out the baking soda and salt and it was PERFECT! I will be adding this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pontotoc, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
The best corn bread I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Followed the recipe and this was delicious. My husband loved the taste. I will definitely make this cornbread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was absolutely excellent! I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used regular milk, and it worked out quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
we can't get enough of this cornbread! it was perfect the way it was, but my preference is a little firmer (mine came out a little quiche like). I also wanted to make it slightly less caloricly dense... my tweaks: upped cornmeal to 1.5 cup, lowered corn oil to 1/3 cup, omitted cheese, used only 1tbsp butter in castiron pan. it's a hit with everyone who's tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States