Jalapeno Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
It needed more jalapeños and less liquid, but beyond that it was a great base cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It was more like a corn pudding, too eggy/custard-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Not what I was expecting so was disappointed. The flavor was okay but I agree with previous comments that it seemed to be missing something (looking at other recipes I think it is flour), and it did have more of a wet quiche consistency rather than what you traditionally expect with cornbread. If I ever tried it again I would add flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This was really good but I wish I would have served it warm. I made it ahead of time and I think it would have been better straight out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was absolutely excellent! I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used regular milk, and it worked out quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAM
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I added extra cheese and used canola oil. Tastes just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
we can't get enough of this cornbread! it was perfect the way it was, but my preference is a little firmer (mine came out a little quiche like). I also wanted to make it slightly less caloricly dense... my tweaks: upped cornmeal to 1.5 cup, lowered corn oil to 1/3 cup, omitted cheese, used only 1tbsp butter in castiron pan. it's a hit with everyone who's tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I really (I mean REALLY) wanted to like this recipe; I love cornbread and jalapenos but I must say that I was very disappointed... It didn't taste bad but it was missing "something". I will probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made it with Jiffy Corn Meal, used 3 boxes, and skipped the corn oil, salt, baking soda, and buttermilk,instead used a cup of regular milk. just because I had it in hand, came out perfect, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Cordova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I followed this recipe pretty closely and it was a disaster. Most of the liquid sank to the bottom while baking. What did I do wrong? I found the batter to be considerably more runny than most cornbread batters. Not enough cornmeal? Also, I found it to be too salty. Maybe 1/2 the prescribed amount of salt would've been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States