Jalapeno Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jamie Bailey
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was my first time making bread and it turned out great. I only gave it 4 stars because 1. I had to read the reviews for the correct temperature of the water (warm, not hot), 2. It wasn't specific as to use canned or fresh jalapenos, 3. the baking time was much longer than it needed (only about 30 mins for all 3 loaves), 4. Couldn't really taste the cheese, I freshly grated half of a 16 oz block of sharp cheddar and cubed the other half. Guess I will have to try using extra sharp cheddar next time. Also planning to substitute the jalapenos/cheddar for sun-dried tomatoes/mozzarella/basil. Pretty excited :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Great bread. I agree with another reviewer that we can now switch from buying these to whipping them up at home. I always use the dough hook on my stand mixer. Takes about 3 - 4 minutes to mix through. Then I shape in a ball and place in an oiled boil and let rise overnight in the fridge. I reshape into a boule and top with a little more cheese and jalapenos, let rise again, and bake on my cast iron pizza pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by silverpsych
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I didn't have enough bread pans so my wife braided the dough and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This bread smelled absolutely amazing while it was baking. I was a little disappointed that the bread was milder tasting than I expected but that can vary due to the heat of the peppers and personal taste so I'm not knocking a star off for that. My problem was that I followed the recipe exactly but experienced a little trouble. With only 7 cups of flour and none extra added during kneading, my dough was a little dry. I had to add more water. Then when baking, I think mine would have been ready at 40 minutes. I was trying to follow the instructions. Finally at 45 minutes I pulled it out. The outside was crunchy. Normally things cook in my oven at the recommended time so not sure what was up with this. Regardless, the bread has a great texture! It is a sturdy bread but soft except for my crunchy outside. Next time I will up the peppers and cut back on the sugar just a little bit. I used half shredded mild cheddar and half sharp diced cheddar. Next time I will use all sharp diced I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This turned out nicely. I changed the setting for "10" servings vs 30 and it made one loaf. This was very flavorful! I only baked about 40 minutes as I prefer a more soft and moist center and it was perfect. I only gave 4 stars because I do feel it needs another spice, perhaps a little garlic salt vs. regular salt, but was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Very good. I cut the recipe down to make just one loaf. I added cubed cheese per one of the reviewers hoping to get small "pockets" of cheese goodness. This didn't work out because when the cheese is added in the beginning and the dough is kneaded for the recommended 15 minutes the cheese is smashed and disbursed finely throughout the dough. Over all I felt the kneading time is too long and left the bread a little tough. However, the bread still made excellent toast and the family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The taste of the bread was really good. My husband really liked it, but he said that the dough was too loose. I will definitely make this again. I even turned one of the loaves into bagels and boiled before I baked and those came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this and it was gone so fast. It is spicy & delicious bread. I changed it up a bit and made 1/2 recipe and then shaped dough in a Rectangle using my rolling pin and topped w/ Jalapeno and 1 cp shredded cheese and baked @ 350 for approx 17-22 mins. It baked up beautifully and looked more old world style, since that's how we like it. Now to really add zip, cut in long strips and dip in Marinara sauce. :) YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdwater
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This recipe is so good. So moist and surprisingly not too spicy - just the right amount. Warm from the oven with a little butter and you will melt with happiness. I used 1/2 cup hot water and 1 Tbps sugar to proof my yeast then used 1 1/2 cups warm milk in place of the remaining amount of water. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
The first time I used this recipe, I followed it to the letter with the exception of keeping somewhere between 90-100 degrees (there's no such place in my house during winter so I put on top of dryer and turned on high for an hour) and it turned out better than I could have planned seeing as it's my first bread ever made from scratch or otherwise. Not as much jalapeno and cheese flavor as I like but the scent was great and heated up with melted butter, this bread is to die for. Tonight I'm making it again but this time I used sliced jalapenos and increased to 2 cups. I was going to use cubed cheese for more flavor per bite but my oldest son hates cheese and really liked the first batch so I kept that the same. I have yet to bake it bit everything else is going well so I expect this will be more to my taste. This recipe, if followed correctly, works perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States