Jalapeno Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I make this for my husband once a week. The only change is I use the dough cycle on my bread machine and can form it any way I wish, then bake for 30 minutes in 350o oven...Love It
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Hanawalt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Followed recipe exactly. Needed more cheddar and jalapenos. Followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
The best one yet.. everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This turned ot to be one of the best bread machine loaves I have ever made! I used pickled jalapenos from a jar. Before adding the jalapenos and cheese (at the beep) the dough looked way to dry, so I added some water. Once the jalapenos and cheese were in, the dough looked too wet, so I added some flour. Hindsight tells me I could have left it alone to begin with :-). This bread was still lovely and moist the next day and was so yummy just spread with butter. Just as good toasted! How to decide?? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
this was good, but not nearly enough heat to it. Next time I will double the jalapeños!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I made the recipe for 8 servings (1lb loaf) in a Zojirushi BB-HAC10 and it turned out AMAZING! I used two jalapeno peppers including seeds and the amount of spice was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This bread tases wonderful but I have had trouble with the loaf caving in during baking and remaining wet and doughy in the centre. I found a solution to that. When the bread machine kneads the bread it mashes the cheese into the dough and this causes the cheese to release too much moisture, thus causing it to fall during baking and remain partially uncooked in the middle. The way to avoid this to add 2-3 TB of gluten flour to the bread flour, omit the cheese and jalapenos and set the machine to the dough cycle. (I have even substituted half the white bread flour with whole wheat bread flour and it is delicious and healthier) When the dough cycle is completed, turn it out onto a floured breadboard, cover it with a towel and let it rest for 10 minutes. Then roll it out to 1/4" thickness and PRESS the cheese cubes and jalapenos into the dough. This will also give you better distribution of these ingredients and you can add more of them without adding the moisture that causes the dough to fall and remain wet and doughy in the centre. You can then roll it up, smooth and tuck the ends underneath and bake it at 350' until golden brown. I like to brush the dough with an egg wash and sprinkle the top with sesame seeds. Sometimes I sprinkle garlic powder and some chopped green onions over the dough before rolling it up. This is now one of our favourite breads. I hope this will help you with this problem. It works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I am giving this four stars because I made some necessary changes to the recipe in order to make it using my KA mixer. First, I doubled the recipe and got three large loaves of bread, which I formed and baked on a baking sheet. I added three TBS of olive oil with the water and used canned diced jalapenos, which I added at the beginning of the kneading. I added the cheese about half-way through kneading. This bread has the softest, chewiest texture and is absolutely delicious. Great for sandwiches or serving with dinner. Thanks, Renee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I don't have a bread machine, so I gave this recipe to a co-worker to try. He brought some in the next day and it was awesome. I picked out the big chunks of jalapeño since I don't like really hot stuff. Had a nice flavor throughout. UPDATE: I have since purchased my own bread machine (this recipe that I sampled having some influence on that decision) and made this myself. It turned out wonderfully and has been great for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Love it!! Very first thing I made in my bread maker and I'm super impressed!! Super good... Of course I added more cheese and jalapeños
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States