Jalapeno Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Picked up a big Oster bread maker at the thrift store for 8 bucks. First recipe I found online (not here) was not great. Started thinking "hmm probably why it was 8 bucks." Followed up with this one, changed nothing and it came out PERFECT! My little house had the added benefit of smelling like a little corner of heaven for two full hours. Congratulations Chef on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My all time favorite bread recipe!! i make this at least once every week. I do the dough in my bread maker and add small chunks of cheese (aged chedder and regular cheddar) in after the dough is complete and bake it in my oven. Another variation is to add fried red onions. Fantastic toasted with butter or for grilled cheese. I've even toasted up cubes of the bread and served it with a warm dip to many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
My whole family loved it. I didn't let any seeds into it so it just had the jalapeno flavor, my kids even liked it. It comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was fantastic. I did alter the recipe by adding a healthy dollop of sour cream and went for a full teaspoon of yeast. It turned out a bit more moist and fluffier than the first batch, which makes it a bit more ideal for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelloMonroe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I'm made many jalapeno cheese breads in the past and this one was not one of my favorites. The monterrey jack cheese lends very little flavor to the bread. I used other reviewer's suggestions and cubed it instead of shredding it, and it still just disappeared into the bread and the end result basically tasted like jalapeno bread, not jalapeno cheese bread. I used 6 heaping tablespoons of freshly chopped jalapenos and it was not spicy at all - not even a little bit. It rose nicely in the machine and had a nice texture and crust, but was not at all what I was hoping for. I will not be making this particular recipe again. If you do try it, I'm sure cheddar is a much better choice. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Added 1 1/4 cup cubed aged white cheddar and doubled the jalapeños to the second knead. To make sure cheese and peppers were evenly distributed I flipped the dough ball upside down and then let it bake. Fantastic!!!! I will make another tomorrow just to have for sandwiches!!! Flavorful, soft on top, crusty on sides and spicy as hell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Really good. My husband asked for me to make him jalapeno bread so I tried this recipe and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I've been looking for recipes to use all the jalapeños coming from my garden and this sounded good. The only change I made was the type of cheese. I didn't have Monterey jack on hand, so I used a little cheddar along with some smoked Gouda. My bread machine conked out and the paddle started turning during the baking process, leaving a large cavity inside the bread. Thankfully I was able to salvage quite a bit of the loaf and finish baking it in the oven. Quite tasty! I served it with the Tex Mex Corn Chowder on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I tried this recipe with my new bread machine. I took other advice and added 3/4 cup of cheese i had a blend of monterey jack and cheddar. I just thought the salt was less. I could have added 11/2 teaspoon. But next time Overall the bread was fluffy, light, flavoured just enough with peppers. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is so good, I can't stop eating it! I used a 4 ounce can of diced green chiles and used a whole cup of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States