Jagic (Assyrian Cheese Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a REALLY good dip for pita bread & pita chips, especially after sitting for an hour, so that flavors could meld. It would also be excellent as a sandwich spread. I used a mini food processor to get a creamy smooth texture, which I preferred to the small curds version. I tried it 3 ways: as written; with 1/3 less butter, and with yogurt instead of butter. The yogurt version's consistency was more liquid & lacked the rich taste of butter. It was still VERY good in its own right though. An excellent & healthy alternative for those who want/need to reduce butter consumption. The other 2 ways were so similar in taste & texture, that I'd make this again with only half the butter. We tasted it as recipe was written; all of us really liked the fresh herby taste. Later I added more cilantro & jalapeno for stronger flavor. I agree with Josephine that this could accompany a Greek meal, or any Middle Eastern meal, for that matter (especially if yogurt is used for some or all of the butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
And the winner is... This is so different from what I susally make, my guests were pleasantly surprised. I reduced the amount of butter I used because of health reasons. That's the only change I made. We are definitely dill fans and the dill flavor was very refreshing. I don't do hot, so I made two versions. One as written with a mild amount of minced jalapeno pepper and the second dish had only a slight amount. Since more of the spicier version was eaten, I think my guests may have perferred the spicier one. I put the spread in the center of my Lazy Susan and around it I placed triangles and other shapes of a variety of very flavorful breads. I used Dill Rye, Sundried tomato & Basil bread, Smoked Swiss cheese bread. I had bread sticks, pita triangles, and several kinds of crackers. The spread has almost a summery, back yard taste. This certainly is a keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this with "Peppy's Pita Bread" and it was DELICIOUS! The taste was very refreshing for a warm spring day. My husband bought large curd cottage cheese so I had to add milk to make it less chuncky. Also, I only used 1/4 jalapeno because 4 and 1 year old were eating it too. Lastly, I added a squirt of lemon. Wonderful dish! Although its not Greek, I think this would be a lovely addition to my Greek themed meals. Thank you Traci B for sharing such a unique recipe. ***UPDATE*** Next time I'll try this with "Syrian Bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I didn't change a thing. However unless I am entertaining next time I will cut it in half just for myself. I don't care for Pita chips so I used the 2 x 2 inch deli breads. I had pumpernickel, a light rye and whole wheat. Fantastic Traci B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was so good. My boys really loved it. I only used half a jalapeno because I can't handle heat and didn't know if it would be too hot, it came out perfect for me. Also my store was out of pita bread and I didn't have time to make lavosh so I toasted some tortillas and served it with those and some Club crackers. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I can't believe I didn't leave a review when I made this! I served this at a Christening party and it was very well received. I had made whole wheat pita bread chips and the combination was excellent. Thanks Traci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I admit I had never heard of Jagic...until I hit this site looking for something new to try. I really loved it. I'm giving it 5 stars because I really enjoyed the flavor combos-exactly my taste. A keeper for me, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Note from Recipe Submitter: The amounts in this recipe can be played with; this was submitted according to the traditional recipe my Mom has written but I like to "up" the dill and hot peppers.. I also pulse in a micro blender for a few seconds to give it a smoother apprearance. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This is seriously delicious. I added most of the herbs and the celery to the food processor, with the butter and cottage cheese. I also did a hand mince on some of the onions and herbs. That way the dip was a lovely pale green, and had little chunks of the ingredients. I only used one and a half sticks of butter, and will probably only use one next time. Thanks Traci B's Kitchen, so sharing something delicious and unique with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Delicious! I think next time I might add another jalapeno but it was very good as written. I also "creamed" the cottage cheese to remove the curds. It was the hit of all the appetizers at Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States