Jagic (Assyrian Cheese Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I admit I had never heard of Jagic...until I hit this site looking for something new to try. I really loved it. I'm giving it 5 stars because I really enjoyed the flavor combos-exactly my taste. A keeper for me, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this with "Peppy's Pita Bread" and it was DELICIOUS! The taste was very refreshing for a warm spring day. My husband bought large curd cottage cheese so I had to add milk to make it less chuncky. Also, I only used 1/4 jalapeno because 4 and 1 year old were eating it too. Lastly, I added a squirt of lemon. Wonderful dish! Although its not Greek, I think this would be a lovely addition to my Greek themed meals. Thank you Traci B for sharing such a unique recipe. ***UPDATE*** Next time I'll try this with "Syrian Bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a REALLY good dip for pita bread & pita chips, especially after sitting for an hour, so that flavors could meld. It would also be excellent as a sandwich spread. I used a mini food processor to get a creamy smooth texture, which I preferred to the small curds version. I tried it 3 ways: as written; with 1/3 less butter, and with yogurt instead of butter. The yogurt version's consistency was more liquid & lacked the rich taste of butter. It was still VERY good in its own right though. An excellent & healthy alternative for those who want/need to reduce butter consumption. The other 2 ways were so similar in taste & texture, that I'd make this again with only half the butter. We tasted it as recipe was written; all of us really liked the fresh herby taste. Later I added more cilantro & jalapeno for stronger flavor. I agree with Josephine that this could accompany a Greek meal, or any Middle Eastern meal, for that matter (especially if yogurt is used for some or all of the butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Oh YUM!! This is going to be made over and over at my house. I used dill that I had in the freezer because I couldn't wait until June (when I can get fresh dill)to try this recipe. All the flavors are sooooo good together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Very, very tasty! Made mine & ate with pita bread and next time looking forward to making lavosh as recommended. The longer it sits, the better it gets. Thanks Traci B for an excellent recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
And the winner is... This is so different from what I susally make, my guests were pleasantly surprised. I reduced the amount of butter I used because of health reasons. That's the only change I made. We are definitely dill fans and the dill flavor was very refreshing. I don't do hot, so I made two versions. One as written with a mild amount of minced jalapeno pepper and the second dish had only a slight amount. Since more of the spicier version was eaten, I think my guests may have perferred the spicier one. I put the spread in the center of my Lazy Susan and around it I placed triangles and other shapes of a variety of very flavorful breads. I used Dill Rye, Sundried tomato & Basil bread, Smoked Swiss cheese bread. I had bread sticks, pita triangles, and several kinds of crackers. The spread has almost a summery, back yard taste. This certainly is a keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was so good. My boys really loved it. I only used half a jalapeno because I can't handle heat and didn't know if it would be too hot, it came out perfect for me. Also my store was out of pita bread and I didn't have time to make lavosh so I toasted some tortillas and served it with those and some Club crackers. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe - Traci B. This spread is quick and easy to make, not to mention delicious. My daughter and I made this yesterday for the Recipe Group. We thought we'd used 2% cottage cheese and go for the gusto, since there was already a cup of butter in the ingredients. Prefer the pita chips, but will try with homemade lavosh ( the store bought isn't great). I also think this would be nice with a platter of fresh veggies. The recipe also said it served 20, for us it was 4 adults and 2 small children (lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and let it sit for about an hour. Served it with pita chips and lavash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Love this recipe! So yummy. So pretty too. I will be making this again soon, maybe for Easter. A great way to use up some of your herbs. Thanks TraciB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States