Jagic (Assyrian Cheese Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this for chips--potato and tortilla for a get together with old friends. I blended up the cottage cheese and the butter, along with the jalapeno and herbs. I don't like the texture of cottage cheese too much, and wanted it to be more like a chip dip. It worked great, people were surprised that it was cottage cheese and butter. The first tastes that day were pleasant like having something very fresh, it was after you swallowed that the jalapeno pleasantly hit your taste buds. This made so much that I took it to another get together the next day were the jalapeno and other herbs it was more incorporated. The men folk loved it, and people did want to know what was in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Love this recipe! So yummy. So pretty too. I will be making this again soon, maybe for Easter. A great way to use up some of your herbs. Thanks TraciB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and let it sit for about an hour. Served it with pita chips and lavash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe - Traci B. This spread is quick and easy to make, not to mention delicious. My daughter and I made this yesterday for the Recipe Group. We thought we'd used 2% cottage cheese and go for the gusto, since there was already a cup of butter in the ingredients. Prefer the pita chips, but will try with homemade lavosh ( the store bought isn't great). I also think this would be nice with a platter of fresh veggies. The recipe also said it served 20, for us it was 4 adults and 2 small children (lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was so good. My boys really loved it. I only used half a jalapeno because I can't handle heat and didn't know if it would be too hot, it came out perfect for me. Also my store was out of pita bread and I didn't have time to make lavosh so I toasted some tortillas and served it with those and some Club crackers. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
And the winner is... This is so different from what I susally make, my guests were pleasantly surprised. I reduced the amount of butter I used because of health reasons. That's the only change I made. We are definitely dill fans and the dill flavor was very refreshing. I don't do hot, so I made two versions. One as written with a mild amount of minced jalapeno pepper and the second dish had only a slight amount. Since more of the spicier version was eaten, I think my guests may have perferred the spicier one. I put the spread in the center of my Lazy Susan and around it I placed triangles and other shapes of a variety of very flavorful breads. I used Dill Rye, Sundried tomato & Basil bread, Smoked Swiss cheese bread. I had bread sticks, pita triangles, and several kinds of crackers. The spread has almost a summery, back yard taste. This certainly is a keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Very, very tasty! Made mine & ate with pita bread and next time looking forward to making lavosh as recommended. The longer it sits, the better it gets. Thanks Traci B for an excellent recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Oh YUM!! This is going to be made over and over at my house. I used dill that I had in the freezer because I couldn't wait until June (when I can get fresh dill)to try this recipe. All the flavors are sooooo good together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a REALLY good dip for pita bread & pita chips, especially after sitting for an hour, so that flavors could meld. It would also be excellent as a sandwich spread. I used a mini food processor to get a creamy smooth texture, which I preferred to the small curds version. I tried it 3 ways: as written; with 1/3 less butter, and with yogurt instead of butter. The yogurt version's consistency was more liquid & lacked the rich taste of butter. It was still VERY good in its own right though. An excellent & healthy alternative for those who want/need to reduce butter consumption. The other 2 ways were so similar in taste & texture, that I'd make this again with only half the butter. We tasted it as recipe was written; all of us really liked the fresh herby taste. Later I added more cilantro & jalapeno for stronger flavor. I agree with Josephine that this could accompany a Greek meal, or any Middle Eastern meal, for that matter (especially if yogurt is used for some or all of the butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this with "Peppy's Pita Bread" and it was DELICIOUS! The taste was very refreshing for a warm spring day. My husband bought large curd cottage cheese so I had to add milk to make it less chuncky. Also, I only used 1/4 jalapeno because 4 and 1 year old were eating it too. Lastly, I added a squirt of lemon. Wonderful dish! Although its not Greek, I think this would be a lovely addition to my Greek themed meals. Thank you Traci B for sharing such a unique recipe. ***UPDATE*** Next time I'll try this with "Syrian Bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States