Jaeger Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
My husband spent 7 years in Germany on two different tours, when I told him I wanted to try this, he said "fine but I Am not going to eat it" as he hated it when he lived in Germany. So the verdict is in and he can't wait for me to make it again..... A+ 5 star in our household, to include our 5 picky children...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kickleuk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
It was just okay...nothing exciting to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
We lived in Germany over 25 years ago and this is my first time cooking one of our favorite German foods. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
For those that are confused cube does not mean cutting it into cube pieces. "In the culinary arts, the term Cube Steak is used to refer to a cut of meat that has been run through a mechanical tenderizer. The resulting steak is called a cube steak because of the cube-shaped indentations made by the tenderizer. Cube steak can also be made by pounding the steak with a tenderizing mallet to produce the cube-shaped indentations."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Great recipe! It was surprisingly easy to prepare and the flavor was goood. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is truly a warm and wonderful dish! Can't say enough how great it tastes! Easy, fast and tasty - a five star dish in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunnyNacho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I left the pork whole and when done, addded a little butter and white wine and sauteed the mushrooms before adding the gravy mix. I will not use as much water as the gravy recipe called for next time to thicken it up just a bit. Wine is key to making this five star! Used Pinot Grigio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgrayii
Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I've made something very similar, but I do it slightly different. I take the boneless pork and flatten it out with a kitchen mallet. (Or whatever those are called:) I use the same method for the breading. Instead of the dry mushroom mix, I use golden mushroom soup and add some Riesling to it. I also prefer to use Spaetzle rather than egg noddles, but I have used Egg noddles before and it is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Thanks so much for the post. We had such wonderful schnitzel in Germany a few years ago. This was very good. I did dredge the chops in seasoned flour after flattening to about 1/4", then dipped in egg and then in panko crumbs. I used a combination of a llittle oil and butter to brownj and the results were delicious. Since I didn't have the gravy mix, substituted au jus mix, added alittle cornstarch and a drained can of mushrooms. Using the gravy mix would have been better as even adding a little cornstarch to the au jus did not thicken as much as I would have liked. Will definitely make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I lived in Germany for six years and schnitzel and boiled potatoes was my favorite dish! I used turkey cutlets (whole) instead and did not deep fry, but cooked in a German gravy (Jager Sahne Schnitzel) after searing on both sides and put in chopped up mushrooms and just cooked it for 15 minutes altogether and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife2248

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States