Jacob's Coat Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2002
My husband and I LOVED this. I make this often and it's very easy to reheat. I omitted the cheese and it's just like the old fashioned shepherd's pie my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This was a good basic recipe, although I omitted canned green beans and carrots. Instead, I added one chopped green pepper and sauteed with the ground beef and onion, and also used creamed corn instead of whole kernel corn. I also subtituted 1 cup grated cheddar cheese for the 1/2 lb. processed cheese and prepared 2 cups of instant mashed potatoes instead of 4. Was very quick and easy and my husband really liked it. Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
My meat and potatoes man LOVED this (as did my roommate and daughter)...but me? Well - it was okay but I think I'd rather do the tater tot hotdish thing (also meat & potatoes dish) than this. Loved the ease of the recipe and its not difficult and I guess when your short on time, ingrediants, and just want a down-home meal this would fit the bill but I think I'd otherwise pass. I would say make this if you love this sort of thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Wow! Was that ever good! I used 16oz of frozen mixed veggies and grated cheddar cheese (saving a handful to put on the potatoes for visual appeal) and it came out great! This is a great alternative for those who are not huge fans of the condensed soup version. I added some spices for extra flavor and it was fantastic!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
it was pretty dern good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERDEPICKLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
THIS RECIPE WAS GREAT. MY KIDS ATE IT UP. WAS VERY EASY TO MAKE AND NOT TIME CONSUMING. WILL MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I'm not quite sure why it's called "Jacob's Coat"--if it's referring to the coat of many colors in the Bible, it was Joseph who owned this coat. Anyway, this was very good. I used half instant and half regular mashed potatoes, and I added some mushrooms and green peppers to give it a nice flavor. It's very filling and reheats nicely. God Bless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLFFOX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
YUM YUM YUMMY my hubby and I loved this dish! I had never had sheppards ttype pie, but after trying this I will have it agian. This is a highly recomended recipe! ty so much fo it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Very good! I only used green beans and corn, as I was out of carrots and peas, and I used frozen vegetables, rather than canned. I also cut way back on the amount of vegetables. I made the equivalent of a 20 oz bag of frozen vegetables. I made real mashed potatoes, rather than instant, and only used about 2-3 cups, rather than 4. It took a lot of time to prepare, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This recipe is awesome!! My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States