Jacob's Coat Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
It was easy to prepare, and once it was all assembled just had to throw it in the oven. Everyone who ate it really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
My husband thought this was OK. I thought it lacked flavor. I'm not a canned vegetable fan so I judged the veggies to be a bit mushy. There are other "shepherd's pie" recipes that are much tastier. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This was a good basic recipe, although I omitted canned green beans and carrots. Instead, I added one chopped green pepper and sauteed with the ground beef and onion, and also used creamed corn instead of whole kernel corn. I also subtituted 1 cup grated cheddar cheese for the 1/2 lb. processed cheese and prepared 2 cups of instant mashed potatoes instead of 4. Was very quick and easy and my husband really liked it. Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
This recipe might not be among the fanciest, but my kids LOVE it. My 8 year old stepdaughter can make most of the recipe w/out help; another plus. This is a good "meat & potatoes" recipe, and a great way to get my kids to eat their veggies. It's especially good with "real" mashed potatoes. Thanks for the crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
This is an awesome dish for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
I Loved how easy this was! I added Pepper and Garlic salt to the ground beef and onions. It tasted great. I used frozen veggies, so the cook time was a little longer. I also added Lima beans. Next time I will try a brown gravy on the side too. This is a definte keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnmw
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Very good. I used Butter and Herb box potatoes though and it really added to it. Next time I might try boxed augratin or scalloped on top!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
Use more cheese than it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I use the meat/onion mixture on the bottome of a 2 quart cassrole mixed with a little instant mashed potatoes. Then I layer a can or corn, and then the remaining potatoes. I make enough potatoes for six servings. Then then cheese goes on top. I will try adding more veggies. Sounds good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I'd add more cheese on top of the potatoes. I used canned corn and beans, meant to use carrots. A good rib stickin' recipie. Thanks : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States