Jacob's Coat Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
The family thought this was pretty good. Forgot to add the cheese and it still was tasty, had to add some spice though as it seemed very bland. Thyme, garlic salt and onion powder did the job beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA
Living In: Schoharie, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great hearty meal for the whole family. I cook the hamburger with worcestershire sauce to give this dish a little twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I did take a few suggestions from other reviewers and seasoned the meat with garlic italian seasoning and season salt, I used real mashed potatoes and added chives to them I used frozen mixed veggies as that is what we prefer. I did precook them before putting them into the casserole. My hubby and both kids(except onions:) loved it. Very rarely does everyone like the same meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My husband requests this casserole on a regular basis. I usually have to make extra mashed potatoes since the 4 doesn't seem to cover it. I also put a few pats of butter on top and add Parmesan cheese at 5 minutes left to bake. I also season the hamburger to give it a little more of a "kick". Great job though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shotwench

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
A good base recipe. I added a package of stew seasoning to the meat and made my own mashed potatoes, which I covered with sharp cheddar during the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I can't believe I'm writing this, but I actually threw this one out. HOWEVER...I think it had a lot to do with the fact that I tried to use ground turkey (just use the real stuff LOL). However, I could taste the "canned"-ness of the veggies. Would probably have been awesome with the beef and fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I will never make this again. Virtually inedible and incredibly expensive compared to making it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This was a nice easy throw together dinner. I only added corn and peas because I was worried about "overdoing" it but it could easlily carry all the veggies called for. This will be a repeat. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
GOOD, BUT COULD BE BETTER. I WOULD ADD MORE CHEESE AND GARLIC SALT OR POWDERAND MAYBE SOME DICED TOMATOES. MY 2 YEAR LOD LOVED IT!!! HE ATE ALL THE LEFTOVERS. IT JUST NEEDED A LITTLE SOMETHING MORE FOR ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
This isn't GOURMET, but it is good and is easy to fix. In fact, it is what I usually fix and take to households who have new babies or an illness and need a meal brought in. As another reviewer noted, it should be called "Joseph's Coat Casserole." See Genesis 37:3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatka, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States