Jacky's Fruit and Yogurt Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this recipe this morning because we are preparing for hurricane Sandy and are expecting long-term power outages starting as soon as tomorrow. I was looking for a way to use up all the yogurt I had in my fridge (too much for us to just eat) and this recipe was perfect because not only did I prevent the yogurt from going to waste, but the muffins are perfect to add to our stock-pile of storm-friendly foods that don't require refrigeration or cooking! I didn't have any fresh fruit on hand, so I used two 6oz containers of yogurt per recipe and it turned out perfectly. The recipe made 1.5 dozen cupcake-sized muffins. I made strawberry-banana muffins this morning and am about to make a few more batches using blueberry-strawberry and cherry-vanilla yogurt. Thanks a million for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is a delicious recipe! The only reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 is that I do think there needs to be more liquid/moisture in the recipe than as it is written now. I did as another reviewer suggested and used 2 6-oz cartons of yogurt rather than 1 8-oz, and the muffins came out perfectly. But I could tell as I was stirring the batter/dough together that any less and it would have been impossible to really incorporate everything well. I used blueberry yogurt and fresh (chopped) raspberries. I also subbed 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour for part of the total flour amount. These are delicious and came out looking smoother than the ones in the photo. This will be my "go to" berry muffin recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Instead of blueberries, I used up my summer peaches and peeled and chopped two cups of peaches. I also used plain yogurt instead of blueberry yogurt and cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very good. The recipe is wonderful as is, but I made some changes based on my family's dietary needs and preferences. I made these using all white whole wheat flour, coconut palm sugar and plain yogurt. I also used 2 Tablespoons of butter and 2 Tablespoons applesauce instead of 4 Tablespoons butter. I used 2 cups blueberries, 1 banana mashed, 1 Tablespoon almond extract in addition to the vanilla, and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. I also made a crumb topping with whole wheat flour, oats, coconut palm sugar, 1 T butter and cinnamon. The topping was a nice addition, but not entirely necessary. These muffins make a sweet hearty breakfast or snack. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I love these muffins! I've made them three times now: peach, raspberry and strawberry. They were all delicious. I use 1.5 cups of yogourt and I find they make 18 muffins. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These were good I used peach greek yogurt and sliced apricots because that is what I had on hand. I then topped them with a vanilla powdered sugar frosting (lightly). It tasted summery and different than the usual combinations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I use plain,low fat Greek yogurt, which isn't as sweet as the fruit flavored ones. These muffins are dense and look nice and have nice cracked tops when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Good but I would cut the sugar even more. I used plain yogurt and it was still to sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kkkaroline
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Great low fat, low sugar muffin recipe. The finished product may not be the most aesthetically appealing but they certainly are delicious-and much healthier than traditional muffins! A few alterations I made... I used 1/2c of all purpose flour and substituted 1/2c. of sugar with stevia. I also used brommel and brown buttery spread instead of butter and blueberries from the freezer (i purchased them fresh and froze them for convenience/increased shelf life). I baked them for 25 minutes in a large muffin tin. Made 7 large muffins. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkkaroline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States