Jacksonville Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Terrific recipe. I used pre-cut matchstick carrots and cooked with apple juice and seasonings in the microwave for 3 minutes. Toasted pine nuts (didn't have hazelnuts) in a dry skillet while the carrots cooked. Added light butter, the carrots with juices, and honey (only 4 tsp based on reviewers' comments). Warmed together in the skillet for about a minute--9-10 minutes total time from start to finish. We loved this. Think it will go on the Easter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This is the best carrot dish I've ever tasted! I made it for my family and everyone, even my picky son, LOVED it! Definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This is an outstanding recipe for a "special" twist to carrots that everyone seemed to love. Even picky eaters seemed to love these carrots because of the different texture (shredded) as well as different taste! The hazelnuts added a nice crunch to the sweet, fresh, flavorful carrot taste. This recipe could be served with almost anything. My only complaint is I should have made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This was great. I'll definiatly take this to dinner parties. A little on the sweet side, but I also used fresh from the garden carrots so I would probably cut back the sweetener next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Oh my! My boyfriend just ate these carrots at dinner and said, "Wow!" Best carrots ever. The hazelnuts give such a great texture. I chopped my carrots in thick circles, and they turned out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Tanya! I have been looking like crazy for this recipe all night. This is my favorite Easter recipe and I was so sad to have lost it! These are terrific. I could eat these for dinner and nothing else and be very happy. Fantastic recipe! Don't you love the Jacksonville Inn? You are my hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This recipe is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This dish was really good. I read through the other reviews so cut back on the sugar and used molasses instead of brown sugar. I didn't have a problem with it being too sweet at all. Not so sure I'd use the garlic next time; there were enough flavors going on without it. It was an excellent accompaniment to the ham. Really easy to make, it presented really well with the different colors and a favorite on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Delicious blend of carrots and sweetness. Unfortunately, I didn't have any hazlenuts, but they still tasted great, especially paired with lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Delicious, and even my brother who hates carrots ate it and aked for seconds. I will be making these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States