Jacksonville Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was delicious! I halved the honey as well and added a splash of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is a really wonderful recipe that is a sure to please the crowd. I'm not generally a fan of cooked carrots, but I love every bite of these (as do my very picky children). The first time I made these I tried to steam and grate the carrots as directed. Ack! That's A LOT of work, and ended with disastrous results. My husband I ended up painstakingly cutting the cooked carrots into small pieces so they looked like they were grated. Lesson learned. Now I grate uncooked carrots with the food processor (less expensive than purchasing grated carrots) and follow the remainder of the recipe. The grating snafu almost made me drop a star in the rating, but the flavorful punch these carrots have definitely deserve the full five stars. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
5 stars for originality, 5 stars for addictive factor, and 5 stars for flavor. Jacksonville carrots are for those that want to impress. I followed this recipe exactly, with the exception that I used normal apple juice instead of concentrate - won't do that again. Use the concentrate, I can imagine it gives it a sweeter apple flavor. You can really make this ahead of time, just wait to "saute" the carrots when you have 5 minutes left of all your other dishes to be done. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Interesting/different and appealed to everyone, even my little one, who usually doesn't like carrots! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Excellent. Instead of butter, I used EVOO and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Yummy.....great taste with ginger and hazelnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G Rettig
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I can't wait to take these to Easter Dinner. They taste great and the color is so vivid and rich looking with the glaze. This will be a unique substitute to yams. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Rettig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I'm not normally a carrot fan but a friend was serving these so I decided to be polite and give them a try. So good that I can't wait to make some of my own! This is a very fancy and delicious way to make carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Great recipe ! The flavours were really really good. Thank you :-) I only wish I had made more so there was some leftover. This would make a great snack to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Whoever wrote this recipe obviously has a lot of time on their hands. There is no way that this only takes 20 minutes for total time. Also, the skins are almost impossible to get off of the hazelnuts. I ended up leaving most of them on. I couldn't even get them off with a clean scouring pad. In the end, the carrots didn't even taste that good. They had too much butter and they just tasted like plain carrots that were greasy with some hazelnuts thrown in. I will not waste my time making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States