Jacksonville Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Whoever wrote this recipe obviously has a lot of time on their hands. There is no way that this only takes 20 minutes for total time. Also, the skins are almost impossible to get off of the hazelnuts. I ended up leaving most of them on. I couldn't even get them off with a clean scouring pad. In the end, the carrots didn't even taste that good. They had too much butter and they just tasted like plain carrots that were greasy with some hazelnuts thrown in. I will not waste my time making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very good. Stongly flavoured. I left out the garlic as others suggested, and instead of shredding, I cut the steamed carrots by hand into matchstick like pieces. This was faster and easier on our hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Oh my! My boyfriend just ate these carrots at dinner and said, "Wow!" Best carrots ever. The hazelnuts give such a great texture. I chopped my carrots in thick circles, and they turned out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Delicious, and even my brother who hates carrots ate it and aked for seconds. I will be making these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This dish was really good. I read through the other reviews so cut back on the sugar and used molasses instead of brown sugar. I didn't have a problem with it being too sweet at all. Not so sure I'd use the garlic next time; there were enough flavors going on without it. It was an excellent accompaniment to the ham. Really easy to make, it presented really well with the different colors and a favorite on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These are good, but there's so many flavors you can't really taste the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
awesome! Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I was doubtful about the garlic but with all the great reviews I tried it but it did not go over at all at the potluck I ook this dish to. It would probably be good without the garlick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Very tasty. Makes carrots much more flavorful. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was a delicious recipe. I didn't have honey and wanted to make it so i substituted maple syrup. It was still delicious. What an interesting and delicious way to serve carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States