Jacksonville Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I just wasn't crazy about this one despite all the other rave reviews. Maybe it just was a little more work than I cared for. I still prefer carrots with a simple glaze of brown sugar and butter. I will say that my family really seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Terrific recipe. I used pre-cut matchstick carrots and cooked with apple juice and seasonings in the microwave for 3 minutes. Toasted pine nuts (didn't have hazelnuts) in a dry skillet while the carrots cooked. Added light butter, the carrots with juices, and honey (only 4 tsp based on reviewers' comments). Warmed together in the skillet for about a minute--9-10 minutes total time from start to finish. We loved this. Think it will go on the Easter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Excellent! Great dish to prepare when company's coming! Very tasty! Used approximately 4 tablespoons of butter, and it was plenty. Cut the carrots into bite-size coins before steaming and it made it a lot easier. Super yummy with hazelnuts and pecans- I've tried it both ways. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
My Husband and I loved them but the kids were not to fussy about them. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This was great. I'll definiatly take this to dinner parties. A little on the sweet side, but I also used fresh from the garden carrots so I would probably cut back the sweetener next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Tanya! I have been looking like crazy for this recipe all night. This is my favorite Easter recipe and I was so sad to have lost it! These are terrific. I could eat these for dinner and nothing else and be very happy. Fantastic recipe! Don't you love the Jacksonville Inn? You are my hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Delicious blend of carrots and sweetness. Unfortunately, I didn't have any hazlenuts, but they still tasted great, especially paired with lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
I really liked them, but my husbadn thought they were too sweet. He loved the hazelnuts, though wants me to start adding toasted hazelnuts in when I cook dill butter carrots green beans. Definitely give it a shot if you're looking for a sweeter side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This recipe is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This is an outstanding recipe for a "special" twist to carrots that everyone seemed to love. Even picky eaters seemed to love these carrots because of the different texture (shredded) as well as different taste! The hazelnuts added a nice crunch to the sweet, fresh, flavorful carrot taste. This recipe could be served with almost anything. My only complaint is I should have made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States