Jack's Old-Fashioned Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicous! I cooked 8 oz. noodles separately and then ladled the broth & carrots over for my 3 & 5 year olds. Also, added carrots, cabbage& potato for last 35 minutes, til al dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
this was great and as the old saying goes add everything but the kitchen sink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
OUTSTANDING! This is a GREAT soup! We use left-over prime rib scraps and bones from Christmas dinner and followed this recipe (for the most part). I had a 10 bean dry mix with barley so I use 2 cups of that instead of the 1/4 cup amounts of beans/rice/macaroni. We did follow the "core" recipe exactly! The beef broth with the crushed tomato puree and the cup of red wine made a superb broth! I believe that this recipe would be very "forgiving" if you made some small substitutions, just don't mess with the broth...it is perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is a great soup!! I am not a great black bean fan so I soaked some Northern beans overnight and used them instead. I also used Swanson's beef broth (26 oz) and added 6 oz of sherry to make up the one quart of beef broth the recipe called for. I still added the red wine. I cooked the pasta and rice separtately so it wouldn't get mushy if left in the soup. My family loved this recipe and rest assured, I will be making this through out the chilly months to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Levin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RCOFFELT
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe for cold days. I added extra meat. I think you could pretty much make any substitutions you want and it would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOFFELT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wonderful! My husband said throw out all the other beef soup recipes..this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Perfect as is, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUANNE2584

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Way to go Jack! I was making soups having made beef stock yesterday and came here to my favorite site for ideas. The best soup recipes do not come from bullion cubes, packaged vegetables or bottles of juice. I skimmed most of the fat off my stock then I could add butter without guilt! Way to Rock It Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
OK, so my photo doesn´t match the recipe title. I started out with this recipe in mind but I also wanted to use what I had on hand. It turned out great with chicken, bay leaf, thyme, sweet potatoes, carrots, squash, two types of beans, green pepper, cabbage, onion, garlic, celery, salt and pepper. I had the red wine but I think that´s best saved for when I repeat this recipe with beef. This is a very forgiving recipe. Thanks Jack; I´ll try this again and follow the ingredients better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States