Jack's Old-Fashioned Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Very tasty recipe. Next time I will add the rice, pasta, and split peas about 20-30 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This soup was pretty good but lacks some ingredient that keeps it from being WOW. It's just a tad bland. Possibly adding garlic or increasing the spice. Not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Overall I think this was a good recipe and had a good flavor. Unfortunately I could not find any beef stock bones at the time, so I substituted most of the water for more beef stock, a little vegetable stock, and a little water. It came out well like this. The only thing I would do different is to cook the beans and peas longer. Dry beans and peas take a long time to soften up. Even after cooking for an hour, they were still much too hard, and almost had an uncooked texture. I would recommend putting these in at the beginning and cooking throughout for the full 4 hours instead of only the last hour. Some reviewers commented that their noodles became too starchy in an hour. I used whole grain noodles, and after cooking at medium low for the full hour, they were soft but still intact. If you use white flour noodles, you may want to add these closer to the end as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheba

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Not bad, the diverse ingredients kept things interesting but it wasn't the best beef stew I've ever had. I used venison tenderloin plus beef bones and it turned out too "gamey" tasting. If I make it again, I'd add more noodles, skip the red wine and tomatoes, and use regular beef tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
good but not outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Yummy. I disagree about the wine - I think it was fabulous. I also added about a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce and a couple teaspoons of italian seasoning mix to spice it up a little. I also used brown rice instead of white, and doubled the quantity. I didn't add any noodles to keep it gluten free. I can't wait to see how it tastes tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
If you dislike red wine, do NOT add. The stock was ok up until the wine was added. Even after adding sugar, condensed tomato soup, salt...nothing could cover the red wine flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I wish I could say that I liked this soup, but I cant. I even tweaked the recipe with the tips provided by highest rated review (i.e. removed black beans) posters. But the dozen or so people who ate this soup all pretty much agreed with the following: -Something was missing, a spice, an ingredient, something -The wine was not necessary, in fact some said it took away from the taste -Lack substance, with all the ingredients provided, it was pretty bland. Needless to say, I will be removing this recipe from my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wonderful! My husband said throw out all the other beef soup recipes..this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Way to go Jack! I was making soups having made beef stock yesterday and came here to my favorite site for ideas. The best soup recipes do not come from bullion cubes, packaged vegetables or bottles of juice. I skimmed most of the fat off my stock then I could add butter without guilt! Way to Rock It Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States