Jack's Old-Fashioned Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is a great soup!! I am not a great black bean fan so I soaked some Northern beans overnight and used them instead. I also used Swanson's beef broth (26 oz) and added 6 oz of sherry to make up the one quart of beef broth the recipe called for. I still added the red wine. I cooked the pasta and rice separtately so it wouldn't get mushy if left in the soup. My family loved this recipe and rest assured, I will be making this through out the chilly months to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Levin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bub6958
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made the recipe as stated. This recipe was time consuming, but it was very tasty. Leftovers the next day were even better. I would suggest waiting a day for the full flavor. The cabbage gave it a great taste. I wasn't crazy about the black beans but my husband liked them. I would also suggest waiting until about 15 minutes before the soup is ready to add the macaroni that way it will not get starchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Thanks Jack!! These are the kind of recipes I'm always looking for, handed down by our Mothers to keep their boys strong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Brutz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
OUTSTANDING! This is a GREAT soup! We use left-over prime rib scraps and bones from Christmas dinner and followed this recipe (for the most part). I had a 10 bean dry mix with barley so I use 2 cups of that instead of the 1/4 cup amounts of beans/rice/macaroni. We did follow the "core" recipe exactly! The beef broth with the crushed tomato puree and the cup of red wine made a superb broth! I believe that this recipe would be very "forgiving" if you made some small substitutions, just don't mess with the broth...it is perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wonderful! My husband said throw out all the other beef soup recipes..this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Way to go Jack! I was making soups having made beef stock yesterday and came here to my favorite site for ideas. The best soup recipes do not come from bullion cubes, packaged vegetables or bottles of juice. I skimmed most of the fat off my stock then I could add butter without guilt! Way to Rock It Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RCOFFELT
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe for cold days. I added extra meat. I think you could pretty much make any substitutions you want and it would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOFFELT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
If you dislike red wine, do NOT add. The stock was ok up until the wine was added. Even after adding sugar, condensed tomato soup, salt...nothing could cover the red wine flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I wish I could say that I liked this soup, but I cant. I even tweaked the recipe with the tips provided by highest rated review (i.e. removed black beans) posters. But the dozen or so people who ate this soup all pretty much agreed with the following: -Something was missing, a spice, an ingredient, something -The wine was not necessary, in fact some said it took away from the taste -Lack substance, with all the ingredients provided, it was pretty bland. Needless to say, I will be removing this recipe from my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicous! I cooked 8 oz. noodles separately and then ladled the broth & carrots over for my 3 & 5 year olds. Also, added carrots, cabbage& potato for last 35 minutes, til al dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States