Jack's Beanie-Weenies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I wasn't expecting much out of a beanie weenie recipe- but this was pleasantly surprising. Just like when you cook with wine, the rule is: never cook with something you wouldn't drink. That being said, I used Blue Moon Pale Ale. (It's not so much pale as copper colored, but we'll let that slide.) Because I knew I liked the flavor of the beer, I went ahead and left in about 1/2 the liquid, added some ketchup and brown sugar. I also added a little corstarch to thicken up the sauce. (Gotta be careful with that or you'll end up with little white chunks in your beans- yuck!)After bringing to a boil and simmering for a few the sauce was just right. Onions bring a lot to this dish as well. Thanks for the idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The beer makes it pop. I used about 1/2- 2/3 can of light beer, couple tablespoons of hickory smoke BBQ sauce, dash of worcestershire, bush's southern pit BBQ grilling beans 22oz, and pack of kosher dogs. No need for honey since BBQ gives it the sweetness it needs. The beer in the beans was something special and got me thinking that I need to try it in a few other recipes. Don't know how dad used to make it for me when I was a kid, but this was as close as I have gotten. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tooty Meadows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made this for more than 10 people. Some who love beer loved it and I didn't care for it (I don't like beer). Since the recipe author said she and her sister loved it as a child, I gave them to my kids but they spit them out. So I gave it a 3 star review because of the split reactions from my people. This might be a great tail gate recipe for people who love drinking beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
a classic- can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I don't feel as if the beer and honey added any flavor to this recipe. I'm giving it 3 stars because it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama09
Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These are quite good! I really liked the added flavor the beer and honey gave them. Serve with white rice, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGSiempre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
It was a can of beans mixed with some hotdogs. I don't really see what the beer or honey added. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I love Beanie-Weenies from when I was A kid and still do to this day and boy were these good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Jackman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Very yummy. Even my picky daughter ate hers. I do not think it works well as a meal, but as a side it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States