Jackie's Spinach and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was amazing. I added a little extra maple syrup by mistake (1/3 instead of 1/4 cup), and that may be why I didn't have any problems with the dressing like some other commenters had. It was such an amazing dressing! And it went very well with the salad. Altogether, easy and quick. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
It was ok. The dressing needs some salt and pepper or something to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I didn't make the salad but I made the dressing when I was in a pinch. Quick, easy, and mildly flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I really enjoy this salad--healthy and tasty. However, I think there is way too much dressing for the amount of salad, and the maple syrup doesn't mix well. So, I cut each dressing ingredient to 1/8 cup and microwaved the syrup for 10-15 seconds before whipping it together. Much better! You can use any type of apple and most hard cheeses, too, and it's equally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The only reason I gave this four starts as that the dressing was a bit bland. I added a pinch of salt and a tablespoon of dijon mustard and this took it up to a personal five stars for me. Everyone loved it! Who would think of using maple syrup but trust me it works! I also toasted the walnuts in a skillet and diced the apples. Great combination of flavors. Made a nice fall salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Delicious - perfect for a quick and easy lunch! I used a combination of baby spinach leaves and romaine lettuce. I also used a combination of Granny Smith and Red Delicious apples for added color and flavor. I toasted my walnuts before tossing them into the salad and used "Maple-Balsamic Vinaigrette" from this site. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was quite a nice salad - not awesome, but very good. I don't think I'd ever even heard of maple syrup being used in a salad dressing, but it worked nicely here. I made the recipe exactly as written. The only change I might make, if/when I make this again, would be to go ahead and chop the apples instead of using slices in the salad. This lasted me for 3 fairly big salad lunches (a little soggy at the end, but that's no surprise). Thanks for a simple yet very tasty salad idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I liked this salad. I don't care for maple syrup in dressing, so I used honey instead. I also added some dijon mustard (about 1 Tbsp.) and fresh ground pepper to the dressing. The cheese, apples and walnuts go naturally together and my updates to the dressing pulled it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Sooooo good. I used Sweet Vidalia Onion dressing and it seemed to pull everything together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaPGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States