Jackie's Spinach and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was amazing. I added a little extra maple syrup by mistake (1/3 instead of 1/4 cup), and that may be why I didn't have any problems with the dressing like some other commenters had. It was such an amazing dressing! And it went very well with the salad. Altogether, easy and quick. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
It was ok. The dressing needs some salt and pepper or something to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I didn't make the salad but I made the dressing when I was in a pinch. Quick, easy, and mildly flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I really enjoy this salad--healthy and tasty. However, I think there is way too much dressing for the amount of salad, and the maple syrup doesn't mix well. So, I cut each dressing ingredient to 1/8 cup and microwaved the syrup for 10-15 seconds before whipping it together. Much better! You can use any type of apple and most hard cheeses, too, and it's equally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The only reason I gave this four starts as that the dressing was a bit bland. I added a pinch of salt and a tablespoon of dijon mustard and this took it up to a personal five stars for me. Everyone loved it! Who would think of using maple syrup but trust me it works! I also toasted the walnuts in a skillet and diced the apples. Great combination of flavors. Made a nice fall salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Delicious - perfect for a quick and easy lunch! I used a combination of baby spinach leaves and romaine lettuce. I also used a combination of Granny Smith and Red Delicious apples for added color and flavor. I toasted my walnuts before tossing them into the salad and used "Maple-Balsamic Vinaigrette" from this site. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was quite a nice salad - not awesome, but very good. I don't think I'd ever even heard of maple syrup being used in a salad dressing, but it worked nicely here. I made the recipe exactly as written. The only change I might make, if/when I make this again, would be to go ahead and chop the apples instead of using slices in the salad. This lasted me for 3 fairly big salad lunches (a little soggy at the end, but that's no surprise). Thanks for a simple yet very tasty salad idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I liked this salad. I don't care for maple syrup in dressing, so I used honey instead. I also added some dijon mustard (about 1 Tbsp.) and fresh ground pepper to the dressing. The cheese, apples and walnuts go naturally together and my updates to the dressing pulled it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Sooooo good. I used Sweet Vidalia Onion dressing and it seemed to pull everything together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaPGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States