Jackie's Special Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I was looking for a recipe that used Panko (Japanese Bread Crumbs) and this was it. What a great meatloaf. Panko has better flavor and texture than regular bread crumbs. I did "doctor up" the Panko with garlic salt, Adobe (secret ingredient) and pepper. Then added a little italian seasoning for color. I did use a little more Panko than the 1 cup. It needed a little firmer texture. The author is right, eyeball it! Lastly I added some finely chopped onion. This won some rave reviews on a cold Oct day in NE while watching the NE Patriots. Not typical "Football" food, but everyone had seconds :) I also made some Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Roasted Garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This is a really good recipe although I will admit I used barbeque sauce instead of ketchup. I like that it easily took small changes like adding 1/4 cup of finely grated carrot. Easy to assemble. Very tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This is just OK. I think 1 T. of onion & garlic powder is too much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Love it! Added 1/4 tsp worchestshire sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Very good and very easy. I had leftover Panko crumbs to use and this was a perfect choice. I did use some chopped onion and minced garlic instead of the powders. Also, I added some chopped red bell pepper, celery and shredded carrots. I added worcestershire as someone else suggested. I guess I am saying this is a good base recipe and add what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made your recipe, a few days ago, and everyone that ate it told me it was great. Thanks for letting me see your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I'm not a big fan of meatloaf, but it is my son's favorite dish. I am always looking for one that I can make that I will like better. Thanks Jackie, I found it. This one is going in the file box and the search is over. Ease of preperation is a big plus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I don't even like meatloaf, but I kind of tweaked the recipe, and it's AWESOME!!! I didn't have panko crumbs, so I just used regular bread crumbs (a little more than 1 cup). I also am not a fan of ketchup, so I used 1 part ketchup, 1 part BBQ sauce, 1 part steak sauce, with a little bit of Worchestershire. THe meatloaf turned out moist and absolutely delicious! You have made me into a meatloaf believer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Although it might have been the salt-free seasoning I used this meatloaf had a weird flavor to it. I like the idea of the panko, though, and might try to doctor it up a little bit in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States