Jackie's Special Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very nice. I did shred some carrots and broccoli stems into the mixture, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and finally figured out why people at something as odd-looking (IMHO) as meatloaf -- it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEANUTPUTTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I used this as a base recipe, wrapped my meatloaf around two string cheese (cheddar) sticks that I'd frozen, brushed a layer of ketchup over top and laid several thick sliced applewood smoked bacon on top. The best meatloaf you'll EVER eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I must admit, I was a bit skeptical because of the amount of ingredients used. This meatloaf was fantastic!! You must use the panko crumbs. I also added a small amount of fresh onion and one clove of garlic instead of the powder. I also added "Sylvia's Hot Sizzlin' Spice" (about a 1/2 tsp.) for a little extra "zip". The consistency was perfect. Not only is this recipe a keeper, I made another batch and made hamburgers out of it. The recipe made 6 good sized burgers. Wrap and freeze!!! Thanks Jackie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
My husband was pretty unsure about this recipe, but both of us were very pleased with out it turned out. I've made this several times, my husband requests it almost weekly now. I've been adding minced celery, green and red peppers, onion and garlic. Depending on how many veggies I make, I add one more egg and more bread crumbs. This is definitely one of our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was my first attempt at making meatloaf. I was making it for 2 and scaled down the recipe. Instead of a loaf I made them in single deep ramekins. I made it for my boyfriend. We both thought it was awesome. I used fresh onion and added some fresh chopped basil for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I think this would be pretty good meatloaf, if I had not changed the recipe. I got away from the original recipe and used 1/3 ketchup, 1/3 Cattlemens Classic BBQ and 1/3 Worchestershire Sauce. I also used Italian bread crumbs. The texture was good, but I think the taste was a little too spicy and overpowering. I think next time I would just stick to the catsup and regular bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Artiste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winkelman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I give this a 4 star, because I had to change it a bit. It only called for 1 pound of meatloaf, but I used 2 lbs and it turned out perfect. I had to use regular bread crumbs, because that is what I had. I followed someone's advice buy using half ketchup and half W. sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
My husband loves meatloaf. After making this last night he told me to stop the decade-long search for the right recipe because I have finally found it! I used bbq sauce instead of ketchup and made my own breadcrumbs (2 slices of bread in the food processor = 1 cup of crumbs). I can't vouch for how greasy this dish would be if cooked the traditional way because I elevate my meatloaf on a rack in the baking pan so the fat drips off. Sometimes drier recipes can tend to be very dry doing this, but this one was not. A note: if you try this method, make sure to use at least 90/10 ground beef, as lower fat varieties will be too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I have always attempted to recreate my mom's meatloaf with little success. It was either too mushy or too dry. This recipe is the closest match to my mom's. It was perfectly moist. I did however make some alterations for personal preference. I used minced onion and garlic in place of the powders and eliminated the salt. I also added 1/2 tsp. of worchestershire and 6-7 dashes of tobasco for some extra kick (the two ingredients mom always used). This recipe is a great base recipe for your own interpretation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I am not a lover of meatloaf but this recipe was wonderful. I think the panko breadcrumbs made a world of difference. This was a light and flavorful recipe which I will make again and again. To me most meatloaf tastes like hamburger, boring, boring, boring, but not this. I did add some fresh garlic and onion, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States