Jackie's Special Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Awesome! I love the panko crumbs and use this recipe all the time. Recipe is great as is, but have made the following changes: added 1/4 tsp of minced garlic in place of garlic powder, 1/4 cup finely diced carrots, 1/3 cup diced onion in place of onion powder. Recipe works great with ground turkey, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Great recipe! I am the only one in our family that likes meatloaf and since I'm the one that cooks, I decided to make it after searching for a recipe I thinght my family might like better than my old standby. I found Jackie's and it was a huge hit with my meatloaf hating kids and husband. They actually asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I thought this was fantastic. I baked them in muffin cups lined with foil. The kids loved it. ...no veggie or onion chunks which they don't like. Instead of panko bread crumbs, I used gluten free bread crumbs. I'll definitely be making them again. They stuck to the foil pretty badly but tasted great! Lastly, I didn't put ketchup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This meatloaf was not at all what I expected. It was easy, yes. I would rather put more work into it and have a much better tasting meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
excellent recipe Jackie!! I added fresh grated onion (1/2 Spanish onion) 1 tsp minced garlic, 1/2 chopped bell pepper, a handful of grated carrot and 1 1/2 cups Panko bread crumbs, 2 eggs (maybe 3 next time), tsp italian seasoning, 1/2 c. Ketchup, ...came out wonderfully! I do suggest a fattier burger 90/10 or 80/20, and************* (try this, it is a great idea borrowed from another allrecipes recipe!!!!) I put 2 pieces of any type of bread at the bottom of the loaf pan to absorb the grease and extra juices from the meat/veggies---DH says its tasty, but I toss it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Daskal Aynessazian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this exactly as written and it was just delicious. This was so easy and so tasty! This one is a keeper for my family. Thanks Jackie for a simple but great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I was torn between giving this 3 or 4 stars. I made the recipe as written. My husband said it had great potential, but the seasonings were a little overpowering. Next time, I'll make it with less seasoning. I still will use this as a guide, but will not be following it to the letter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
THIS is a good solid meatloaf recipe. Predictable enough that you can experiment with it and expect good results. Thanks for a basic recipe that has good texture and wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a pretty good meatloaf recipe. One time, I added BBQ sauce as many of the reviewers suggested, but my family thought that it was too sweet then (I have some diabetics in my family, and they didn't seem to appreciate the extra sweetness the BBQ added to the dish). For the topping, instead of just using ketchup, I usually mix the ketchup with about 2 tablespoons of water and 1 tablespoon of worchestershire sauce. Sometimes I substitute regular bread crumbs or a mix of bread crumbs and crushed crackers for the panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLGarnsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Gay, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Finally! A great meatloaf recipe that doesn't call for a box of stuffing mix. This was easy, tasty and I will make it again! Hits the spot on a cold Nebraska day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marsan7673

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States