Jackie's Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
We enjoyed this! It was simple to make. I made some small substitutions including adding pepper and a bouillon cube from another user's review. I also added a dash of hot sauce to make this dish less bland, used fresh spinach that I quickly sauteed in oil, and left out the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Saving! This was very easy and very flavorful. What a great tasting soup with a lot of nutrients. My kids and Hubby gobbled it up. The only thing I changed was I used Bulk Sausage and used 8 bouillon cubes with 8 c of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juhnke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Delicious, and very easy. I added a can of cannellini beans, omitted the parsley, and used mild Italian sausage sliced instead of removed from the casing. Those were the only minor changes I made, and the recipe was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Orzo and sausage in a veggie-rich soup! This combo is right up my alley. Loved it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Supper yummy soup. I made just as the recipe called for. Can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This soup is so awesome! I had to vary the ingredients just a little due to not having some. I had to use dried parsley in place of fresh, red bell pepper instead of green, 1 cup dry Ditalini instead of orzo and I used my own homemade chicken broth,(Chef John's recipe also from AR), so I added about 2 tsp of kosher salt. My homemade broth was not as salty as the store bought. I also added just a sprinkle (maybe 1/4 to 1/2 tsp) of cracked red pepper on top and threw in a can of kidney beans. I let it all simmer on low all afternoon. I also made some Crusty French Bread also from AR but started it in my bread machine on the dough cycle and then shaped into 8 rolls before baking. It was a yummy dinner on a cold night. I'm having some leftovers for lunch today and I think it tastes even better! Thank you Jackie for a great recipe. I shared it to FB so my friends and family can enjoy it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Feigenbaum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have served this more times than I can count and it's always amazing. I don't use two pots. I brown the sausage in my stock pot and then drain off the grease. Have not had anyone not love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I added celery, and carrots, canned white beans, used kale instead of spinach, rice instead of orzo, and added more herbs and spice. It was delicious. Very good with a good loaf of bread. I will make this again. Good recipe to modify to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I looked at several recipes for Italian sausage soup, but decided on this one. I'm glad I did! I only had regular sausage, but the family thought it was delicious anyway. I made a hot Italian sausage soup a few months ago that they thought was too hot, so this was good. I made a separate vegetarian version for myself. I did add some kelp and chia seeds because I add them to everything I can, but I'm sure they didn't change the taste at all. I used homemade chicken broth. I added tortellini(about 10 oz. to each pot) and fresh, chopped spinach and kale at the end. The broth was so savory and delicious that I could have eaten it all before I even served it (speaking of the non meat version, but I'm sure the meat one was great, too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States