Jackie's Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Supper yummy soup. I made just as the recipe called for. Can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This soup is so awesome! I had to vary the ingredients just a little due to not having some. I had to use dried parsley in place of fresh, red bell pepper instead of green, 1 cup dry Ditalini instead of orzo and I used my own homemade chicken broth,(Chef John's recipe also from AR), so I added about 2 tsp of kosher salt. My homemade broth was not as salty as the store bought. I also added just a sprinkle (maybe 1/4 to 1/2 tsp) of cracked red pepper on top and threw in a can of kidney beans. I let it all simmer on low all afternoon. I also made some Crusty French Bread also from AR but started it in my bread machine on the dough cycle and then shaped into 8 rolls before baking. It was a yummy dinner on a cold night. I'm having some leftovers for lunch today and I think it tastes even better! Thank you Jackie for a great recipe. I shared it to FB so my friends and family can enjoy it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have served this more times than I can count and it's always amazing. I don't use two pots. I brown the sausage in my stock pot and then drain off the grease. Have not had anyone not love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I added celery, and carrots, canned white beans, used kale instead of spinach, rice instead of orzo, and added more herbs and spice. It was delicious. Very good with a good loaf of bread. I will make this again. Good recipe to modify to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I looked at several recipes for Italian sausage soup, but decided on this one. I'm glad I did! I only had regular sausage, but the family thought it was delicious anyway. I made a hot Italian sausage soup a few months ago that they thought was too hot, so this was good. I made a separate vegetarian version for myself. I did add some kelp and chia seeds because I add them to everything I can, but I'm sure they didn't change the taste at all. I used homemade chicken broth. I added tortellini(about 10 oz. to each pot) and fresh, chopped spinach and kale at the end. The broth was so savory and delicious that I could have eaten it all before I even served it (speaking of the non meat version, but I'm sure the meat one was great, too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written the day after Sandy came through our area, a cold rainy night! This soup was perfect for that and I would not change one thing about it! This will become a staple recipe for my family. We served with warm rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Halpin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have made this 3 times now. Best soup, loads of flavor. I used hot italian sausage instead of sweet and diced tomatoes instead of whole. I also used fresh baby spinach instead of frozen. I did use 3 colors of bell peppers as I always chop them and freeze them so I always have them on hand. My favorite soup of all and hubbys too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
delicious, used chicken sausage and fresh tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States