Jackie's Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Supper yummy soup. I made just as the recipe called for. Can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This soup is so awesome! I had to vary the ingredients just a little due to not having some. I had to use dried parsley in place of fresh, red bell pepper instead of green, 1 cup dry Ditalini instead of orzo and I used my own homemade chicken broth,(Chef John's recipe also from AR), so I added about 2 tsp of kosher salt. My homemade broth was not as salty as the store bought. I also added just a sprinkle (maybe 1/4 to 1/2 tsp) of cracked red pepper on top and threw in a can of kidney beans. I let it all simmer on low all afternoon. I also made some Crusty French Bread also from AR but started it in my bread machine on the dough cycle and then shaped into 8 rolls before baking. It was a yummy dinner on a cold night. I'm having some leftovers for lunch today and I think it tastes even better! Thank you Jackie for a great recipe. I shared it to FB so my friends and family can enjoy it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have served this more times than I can count and it's always amazing. I don't use two pots. I brown the sausage in my stock pot and then drain off the grease. Have not had anyone not love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I added celery, and carrots, canned white beans, used kale instead of spinach, rice instead of orzo, and added more herbs and spice. It was delicious. Very good with a good loaf of bread. I will make this again. Good recipe to modify to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I looked at several recipes for Italian sausage soup, but decided on this one. I'm glad I did! I only had regular sausage, but the family thought it was delicious anyway. I made a hot Italian sausage soup a few months ago that they thought was too hot, so this was good. I made a separate vegetarian version for myself. I did add some kelp and chia seeds because I add them to everything I can, but I'm sure they didn't change the taste at all. I used homemade chicken broth. I added tortellini(about 10 oz. to each pot) and fresh, chopped spinach and kale at the end. The broth was so savory and delicious that I could have eaten it all before I even served it (speaking of the non meat version, but I'm sure the meat one was great, too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written the day after Sandy came through our area, a cold rainy night! This soup was perfect for that and I would not change one thing about it! This will become a staple recipe for my family. We served with warm rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Halpin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have made this 3 times now. Best soup, loads of flavor. I used hot italian sausage instead of sweet and diced tomatoes instead of whole. I also used fresh baby spinach instead of frozen. I did use 3 colors of bell peppers as I always chop them and freeze them so I always have them on hand. My favorite soup of all and hubbys too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
delicious, used chicken sausage and fresh tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States